Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Eight Stages of Genocide: Holocaust

No description

lindsey warren

on 9 March 2015

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Eight Stages of Genocide: Holocaust

Classification is the idea of picking out us vs. them. The Nazis were Darwinists, meaning that they believed in survivial of the fittest. Anyone that was not part of the "superior race" would be killed. They targeted and killed Jews, Gypsies, people with disabilities, afro-germans, Jehovahs Witnesses, homosexuals, and prostitutes. They also separated those that were believed to be opposing the regime.
Dehumanization is when one group denies the humanity of another group. Elie Wiesel, an author, expresses his experiences and observations in which he and his fellow Jews were dehumanized while living in concentration camps. All Jews, as a race were attacked by the Nazis during this time; reducing them to no less than objects, positions which meant nothing to them, belongings that were a nuisance.
Organization is organized by the state, government, or terrorist groups. The way that Nazi Germany prepared for the Genocide was by putting people into Ghettos for easy access then, Adolf Hitler issued the orders to kill “weak” people although he, himself was not involved in the executions.

Adolf Hitler wanted to exterminate everyone who wasn’t genetically strong people such as psychopaths, homosexuals, Jews, sick people, and the handicapped were all victims of this genocide. Adolf Hitler’s perfect human were pale, blonde hair, and blue eyed.

Holocaust Presentation
Eight Stages of Genocide: Holocaust
The eight stages of genocide are: 1. classification
2. symbolization
3. dehumanization
4. organization
5. polarization
6. preparation
7. extermination
8. denial
Symbolization is giving names or symbols to represent the classifications. Each of the groups were given a different symbol to represent which group they were apart of. Hitler often said the worst symbol to have is the Star Of David, which represented the jews.
Group Symbols
Polarization is when extremists drive the groups apart. The Nuremberg Laws were created to take away the rights of Jews. In a section of these laws, Law for protection of German Blood and German Honor, states that any Jew may not have any contact with "subjects of German or kindred blood." These laws were published on September 15, 1935. The Nazi's used images, posters, and media to give Jews contorted image.
The Nazis used ghettos (where a large number of jews are contained) to separate Jews from Germans. They forced the Jews from their homes and created death lists. In this stage, the Nazi's begin their death preparation. They start to build concentration and death camps. The establishment of the ghettos was to temporary confine the Jews while the Germans made plans to systematically murder the Jews.
Denial is when perpetrators try to cover up the evidence. They intimidate witnesses, deny that crimes have been committed and often blame the victims. Denial was often motivated by the hatred of the Jews. In 1959, Gerald L.K. Smith claimed in a publication that six million Jews were never killed during the Holocaust. In 1969, Noontide Press published a book called
The Myth of the Six Million
; meaning the mass killing of Jews never occurred.
By: Bella, Joseph D., Lindsey, Svea, Tramanh
In about 1935, the regime also began to imprison those whom it designated as racially or biologically inferior, especially Jews.
The six extermination camps were all situated in former Poland and had mass murder as their purpose. Outside Poland at least two camps existed that in many ways resembled the six extermination camps in Poland: Jungfernhof (in Latvia) and Maly Trostinets (in Byelorussia). The origin of the "Final Solution," the Nazi plan to exterminate the Jewish people, remained uncertain. What was certain, was the genocide of the Jews was under the rule of leader, Adolf Hitler.

• "Nazi Anti-Jewish Laws - Children of the Holocaust Discussion Guide." Nazi Anti-Jewish Laws - Children of the Holocaust Discussion Guide. N.p., 1999. Web. 04 Mar. 2015.
•"Stage Five: Polarization." Stages Of The Holocaust. N.p., 07 Feb. 2014. Web. 05 Mar. 2015.
•"Ghettos." United States Holocaust Memorial Museum. United States Holocaust Memorial Council, 20 June 2014. Web. 4 Mar. 2015.
•"Holocaust Dehumanization." Holocaust Dehumanization. Weebly, 7 Feb. 2013. Web. 04 Mar. 2015.

Full transcript