Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Harry Potter Series

by J. K. Rowling

Jeanie Boll

on 12 August 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Harry Potter Series

Seven Books
by J. k. Rowling

Harry Potter Series
Some say the books should be for all ages
Young Adult Literature
Speculative Fiction
First Novel for Adults:
"The Casual Vacancy"
No other series by J. K. Rowling
The Rest of the Books in the Harry Potter Books Series
Book one was released as "Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone" and as "Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone" in different countries
Also released as "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
Part 1" and "Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2". This is the conclusion to the series. In the continuing battle of good against evil, Harry Potter finds out more about his past, his present, and his future.
Some caution age appropriateness for some of the latter book
Suggested Age

Books 1-3: age 9 and up
Books 4-7: 12 and up
The first book begins when Harry is 11 years old. Each book advances his and his friends' ages. The subject matter reflects the maturity level of the characters.
"Harry Potter and the Socerers' Stone"
"Harry Potter and the Secret Chamber"
Book 1
Left as a baby on his aunt and uncle’s doorstep, Harry Potter leads a dismal and lonely life, until, at eleven he receives an unusual letter delivered via an unusual manner: an owl. The letter extends an invitation for Harry to attend school at the Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, the only school for all young witches and wizards. Suddenly, Harry’s life is full of learning magic, flying sports, new friendships, and discovering his past . . .and evading danger at every turn.
Harry Potter
Orphaned as a baby and left with Muggle (non-magic) family members
Unaware of his life story
Member of the Gryffindor dorm
Finds out about his past as he trys to stop an evil from his past
Ron Weasley
One of many siblings, past and present, at Hogwarts
The first friend Harry Potter makes
Member of the Gryffindor dorm
Joins Harry on his adventures
Hermione Granger
Friend of Harry Potter
Super smart/overachiever daughter of muggles (a non-magic family)
Friend of Harry Potter
Joins Harry in his escapades
Is a member of the Gryffindor dorm
Book 2
Just as Harry is preparing to return to Hogwarts, a creature he has never seen before visits Harry warning him of impending danger if Harry returns to Hogwarts. Disregarding the warning, Harry sets off to Hogwarts for another year of school. There Harry encounters spirits and voices only he can hear as he tries to solve the mystery of the Secret Chamber and who is turning students into stone before Hogwarts, the place Harry considers home, is shut down.
People of all ages enjoy the Harry Potter series
The series has both male and female protagonist and antagonist
Appeals to those who like to read mysteries, stories about friendship and loyalty and fantasy
Other Series by Author:
Harry Potter
Ron Weasley
Hermione Granger
Back at Hogwarts for second year
Finds out he understands Parseltongue, language of snakes
Arch enemy of the evil Lord Valdemort
Rescues Harry from his relatives
Accompanies Harry on his escapades
Is the 'brain' behind the trio of friends
One of the students who get turned into stone
Book 3
Harry's life is threatened by and escaped prisoner, Sirius Black. While at Hogwarts, Harry encounter new terrors and learns more about his father as he tries to evade what appears to be his inevitable doom.
Book 4
Harry's fourth year at Hogwarts finds him representing his school in the Triwizard Tournament, a competition against two other wizard schools, a competition that could prove to be deadly. All-the-while,Voldemort attempts, once more, to rise to power
Book 5
The Ministry of Magic will not admit Voldemort has returned, and will not let the students at Hogwarts learn Defense Against Dark Art tactics. Will Harry know how to defend himself when once more Voldemort comes to kill Harry?
Book 6
This book is a coming of age book. Harry learns of love and of death. Voldemort is wrecking havoc in both the muggles' and magical world. To stop Voldemort, Harry seeks to find out what caused Voldemort to become evil and experiences life's pains along the way.
Book 7
Age Appropriateness
Religious Concerns
Some Conservative Christians object to the series because of the connection to witchcraft/wizardry.
Reading Order
Because Rowling includes brief synopsis of the previous books, this series could be read out of order. But to get full enjoyment, best when read in order.
similar Series or Titles
The Lost Years of Merlin by T.A, Barron
Children of the Red King by Jenny Nimma
Harry Potter and the Socerers' Stone
Harry Potter and the Secret Chamber
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix
Harry Potter and the Half-Blood Prince
Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows
"No scar, no visible sign . . . to have been loved so deeply, even though the person who loved us is gone, will give us some protection forever." (Dumbledore to Harry)
" It is our choices, Harry, that show what we truly are, far more than our abilities." (Dumbledore)
Full transcript