Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Daniel Levinson's Four Seasons Of Life

No description

Hanna Ellis

on 18 October 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Daniel Levinson's Four Seasons Of Life

Daniel Levinson's Seasons of Life Background Information About Levinson - Yale graduate
- Studied psychology
- Founder of the field of positive adult development Stages and Main Developments:

1) The Stable Period - This is the time when a person makes crucial choices in life.
2) The Transitional Period - This is the end of a person's stage in life and the beginning of a new one. These transitions can be either rocky or smooth, but the quality and significance of one’s life commitments often change between the beginning and end of a period. There are 6 stages of life according to Levinson: 1) Early adult transition (17-22) - leave adolescence, make choices for adult life
2) Entering the adult world (22-28) - makes choices in love, occupation, friendship, values, lifestyle
3) Age 30 transition (28-33) - changes occur in life structure, either a slight change or a severe and stressful mid life crisis
4) Settling down (33-40) - establish a niche in society, progress on a timetable, in both family and career accomplishments; are expected to think and behave like a parent so they are facing more demanding roles and expectations .
5) Mid-life transition (40-45) - A person's life comes into question, usually leaving a person feeling unfulfilledlled and feeling they have neglected parts of the self (talents, desires, aspirations). Men and women become mentors.

6) Entering middle adulthood (45-50) - choices must be made, a new life structure formed. person must commit to new tasks. Levinson wrote about many other things aside from the 6 stages. He wrote about Seperation of family origin and the attachment between the "adult child" and parent to allow the individual to participate in the adult world . He also wrote about how young adults and adolescents may modify or end relationships to make way for an adult-like, mature relationship. Another main development that Levinson discussed was the Dream, and placing it in the life structure. A dream could be something as simple as "I would like to get a job in the law career" or "I would like to get married and have children at some point in my lifetime" The dream is the individual's sense of self in the adult world. The dream is one of 4 major tasks of the age's 22 to 28 stage, young adult hood. The other 4 tasks are as follows: Forming a dream. Forming mentor relationships. Forming love relationships, family and marriage. Forming an occupation. Levinson's theories apply to the Social, Psychological and Chronological clocks, as it takes time, mental growth and social growth to accomplish their dreams. An example of Levinson's theory is the idea of a child wanting a particular occupation when they are younger. For example, my older brother has wanted to be a pilot ever since he was young. He flew model airplanes, then worked very hard in school to get accepted to the Aviation program at collage. He is well on his way to accomplishing his dream.
Full transcript