Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Ecological Zones of the Benthic and Pelagic Enviroments

No description

Sarah Denham

on 7 December 2016

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Ecological Zones of the Benthic and Pelagic Enviroments

Ecological Zones
You can identify 3 main groups of marine life in these zones.
plankton- microscopic organisms that float or drift freely
nekton- organisms that swim actively in open water
benthos- organisms that live at the bottom of the sea
Sublittoral zone
This zone begins where the intertidal ends, at the low-tide limit, and extends to the edge of the continental shelf.
Bathyal zone
This zone extends from the edge of the continental shelf to the abyssal plain.
Intertidal zone
The ocean is divided into 7 ecological zones. These zones are divided based on the marine environment. There are two marine envroments.
Benthic environment- a region near the bottom
Palagic enviroment- the zone near the surface or at middle depths
the shallowest benthic zone located between the low-tide and high-tide limits.
Hadal zone
Neritic Zone
This zone consist of warm shallow water over the continental shelf.
This zone includes the volume of water that covers the entire sea floor except the continental shelf.
This zone is the largest ecological zone of the ocean. It is located on the abyssal plain.
Oceanic Zone
This is the deepest zone located at the bottom of the ocean trenches.
Abyssal Zone
Full transcript