Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Erik Erikson

No description

Nicole McComic

on 20 January 2015

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Erik Erikson

Ashley Caldeira, Kelly Thurston, Nicole McComic, Kelly Nickel, Michelle Thomas
Erik Erikson's 8 Stages
of Development

Erikson believed that personality develops in a
series of stages
His theory describes the impact of
social experiences
across the
entire lifespan
Ego Identity= main element of Erikson's theory. It is the conscious sense of self we develop through social interactions.
Erikson's Theory: our ego is constantly changing due to new experiences and information we acquire daily. When facing a new stage of development, we face a new challenge to further develop our identity.
The infant's basic needs being met by parents
Occurs during the first year of life
Trust is built from being in a nurtured environment and experiencing dependable affection from a parent.
Parents failure to create a safe environment for the infant will result in a sense of mistrust.
Stage 1: Trust vs. Mistrust
Early childhood- child begins to develop sense of self control
Gains independence by performing basic actions on their own and make simple decisions on preference.
Kids make choices and gain more control of their life= Autonomy
Toilet training: vital part of this process= self-control of body= sense of independence.
Completing this stage= feelings of security, confidence
Failure to complete= inadequacy, self-doubt
Stage 2: Autonomy
vs. Shame & Doubt
Preschool years: child begins asserting control of their world through directing play time and other social interactions
Success of this stage= feeling of capability, leadership
Failure of this stage= sense of guilt, self-doubt
Purpose- the ego quality when there is a sense of balance with individual initiative and willingness to work with others.
Stage 3: Initiative
vs. Guilt
Stage 4: Industry vs. Inferiority.
Stage 5: Identity
vs. Role Confusion
Early school years, age 5-11.
Social interactions: children develop sense of pride in accomplishments and capabilities.
Parents and teachers are encouraging so children acquire a sense of belief in their skills
Success at this stage= competence, belief in own abilities
Stage 6: Intimacy vs. Isolation
Early adulthood: Exploring personal relationships
Erikson's belief: Vital that people make close intimate relationships with other people.
Success at this stage: successful, committed relationships with others.
Resolution of this stage= Love~ability to form long-lasting, meaningful relationships with other people.
The child has to learn the roles they will occupy as an adult.
The child re-examines their identity
The two identities involved: sexual & occupational.
Success in this stage leads to fidelity.
Role confusion involves the individual not being sure of their place in society.
Stage 8: Integrity vs. Despair
Stage 7: Generativity vs. Stagnation
Old age: focused on reflecting back on life.
Unsuccess during this stage: feelings of life wasted, regrets, bitterness, despair.
Success: proud of accomplishments, sense of integrity, feeling of satisfaction.
Individual will attain wisdom even when realizing death is near.
Middle adulthood
Develop a sense of being part of the bigger picture.
Giving back to society by raising children
Being involved in community and organizations
Success in this stage will lead to the virtue of care
Erik Erikson
Known as the Father of Lifespan Development.
Born near Frankfort, Germany in 1902.
Studied art and foreign languages as a child instead of science.
Didn't go to college, traveled around Europe instead.
Taught art to Americans in Vienna.
Came to Boston, MA in 1933 as a child analyst at Harvard Medical School.
Believed Freud misjudged important dimensions of human development.

vs. Freudian
Our personalities are developed by the age of 5.
Emotional problems are repressed feelings from childhood (unconscious).
(primitive) at birth; instincts, needs, feelings.
- early childhood; conscious, rational, thinking, reasoning, planning.
Super Ego
- morals; in opposition of Id desires.
Good Care = Strong Ego = Successful Life
Bad Care = Id Driven= Life Out of Control
Not sexuality but independence.
High quality relationships- motivations.
Can go back and revisit stages.
Each stage of development relies on another.
Respond sensitively to crying.
An In-depth Study
Reference Page
Birth to 1 year old
1 to 2 years old
3 to 6 years old
5 to 11 years old
10 to 20 years old
20 to 40 years old
40 to 60 years old
60 and older
Cherry, Kendra. "Erik Erikson's Stages of Development." N.p., n.d. Web. 18 Jan. 2015.

Belsky, J. K. (2013). Experiencing the Lifespan (3rd ed.). New York: Worth Publishers

Andreoletti, C (Director) , (2013, October 8), Erikson's Psychosocial Development. Psy 236 Class notes. Lecture conducted from CCSU, New Britain
Full transcript