Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM

Copy

Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.

DeleteCancel

Make your likes visible on Facebook?

Connect your Facebook account to Prezi and let your likes appear on your timeline.
You can change this under Settings & Account at any time.

No, thanks

Daan's Prezume

My personal, educational, and professional background summed up by using a map of the world
by

Daan de Groot

on 21 March 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Daan's Prezume

Amsterdam Whistler Ottawa Madrid Oviedo This is where I was born on March 11, 1986.

Here I got to love Jazz music, play Water polo, and learned to ski on holidays to the Alps. Nice to meet you! I'm Daan de groot And instead of going to university right after high school, I decided to apply for a job as... ...But as a Ski Instructor at one of the biggest ski resorts of North America. Winter 2005 - 2006 I taught grown-ups and children of all skiing levels, passed two exams during this season (level 2 ski instructor for the CSIA), and became “Rookie of the Year 2005-2006”. I also learned how much fun it can be to observe people's abilities and find out what kind of advice they need in order to improve. I decided to study Organizational Anthropology (AKA Culture Organization & Management) at the Vrije University Amsterdam. Using ethnography as a method we explored "everydayness" within organizations; Always curious to why and how people act as they do. Sep 2006 - Mar 2010 And during this Bachelor's degree I went on exchange twice: I decided my first exchange had to be in Canada again! At the University of Ottawa I took courses like Interpersonal Communication, Organizational Communication, Group Dynamics, and Public Relations But of course there was time to relax, and at one of our house parties I met a very nice Spanish girl.

So, when I was looking for a destination for my second exchange... But another important mission was to learn the language. I took classes and you know what they say about learning a language... At the end of my Bachelor's degree I went to the Universidad Complutense de Madrid. I took courses like the Sociology of Communication and Audio-Visual investigation techniques. Having a Spanish girlfriend really helped me a lot to master the language quickly. Sep 2009 - Jan 2010 sep 2008 - Dec 2008 Here I found a job as a Workflow manager at CSC. Feb 2010 - July 2011 After that I worked as a Transferee Policy Advisor for DuPont's EMEA Human Resource service center. And, of course, I also very much enjoyed the Spanish lifestyle, its countryside, and the great food After Spain I went back to the Vrije University to get a Master's degree in Culture, Organization & Management. One project involved making a video-ethnography of an organization: During my Master's degree I specialized on cultural change and for my Master's thesis I conducted ethnographic research on a chemical company's safety culture. Now...What will be the next step? @daandegreaut http://nl.linkedin.com/in/daandegroot86/ No, not as a Flight Attendant No, nor as a Pilot ...Because I had a great time in Canada before... But after this great adventure... I had to get back to Amsterdam to start a University career I already knew where I wanted to go! It all started in... And because things were going really well between Nuria and me, I decided to move to where Nuria was living.
Full transcript