Send the link below via email or IMCopy
Present to your audienceStart remote presentation
- Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
- People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
- This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
- A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
- Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article
Do you really want to delete this prezi?
Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.
Make your likes visible on Facebook?
Connect your Facebook account to Prezi and let your likes appear on your timeline.
You can change this under Settings & Account at any time.
Control del Costo
Transcript of Control del Costo
OPTIMAIZING COST OF GOODS SOLD (COGS)
You are responsible for ensuring that your restaurant has that special Campero feel—the warm, friendly, come-back-again feeling that our customers have grown to enjoy and look forward to sharing with their children.
Schedule labor as required by anticipated business activity while ensuring that all positions are staffed when needed and labor cost objectives are met.
Be knowledgeable of restaurant policies regarding personnel, and administer prompt, fair, and consistent corrective action for any and all violations of company policies, rules, and procedures.
Fully understand and comply with all federal, state, county, and municipal regulations that pertain to health, safety, and labor requirements of the restaurant, employees, and guests.
Develop, plan, and carry out restaurant marketing, advertising, and promotional activities and campaigns.
BENEFITS OF A GOOD INVENTORY
Knowledge of actual stock of every product, utensil, and packaging
Appropriate product turnover management
Minimal disposal of product
Inventory based on sales volume
Food and paper cost is reduced
Control over restaurant costs and expenses
RISK OF A BAD INVENTORY
Real stocks that do not match with computer report
Loss, deterioration, or expiration of products
Increase in operations cost of restaurant
Increase in restaurant expenses
Low restaurant profitability
Importance should be given to ensure that inventory count is reliable, since new orders will be based on the inventory.
Take into account the storage capacity of the restaurant.
Consider product expiration.
Take into consideration holidays and special orders when placing orders.
Observe supply frequency.
Use reorder points.
HOW TO OPTIMIZE PROFITABILITY??
There are many ways to optimize profitability, for example, increasing sales, optimizing costs or a mix of both. See some examples below:
INCREASING SALES (income)
$15,000 (Income) - $10,000 (Expense)= $5,000 (Profitability)
Increase of sales with stable expenses:
$20,000 (Income) – $10,000 (Expense) = $10,000 (Profitability)
OPTIMIZING EXPENSES (Costs/Expenses)
$20,000 (Income) – $10,000 (Expenses) = $10,000 (Profitability)
$20,000 (Income) – $7,500 (Expenses) = $12,500 (Profitability)
CONTROL AND OPTIMIZATION OF EXPENSES
Understand completely all policies, procedures, standards, specifications, guidelines, and training programs.
Ensure that all guests feel welcome and are given responsive, friendly, and courteous service at all times.
Ensure that all food and products are consistently prepared and served according to the restaurant’s recipes, portioning, cooking, and serving standards.
Achieve company objectives in sales, service, quality, appearance of facility, and sanitation and cleanliness through training of employees, and creating a positive, productive working environment.
Control cash by adhering to cash handling and reconciliation procedures in accordance with restaurant policies and procedures.
Hire, train, and make employment hiring and termination decisions.
Fill in where needed to ensure guest service standards and efficient operations.
Prepare all required paperwork, including forms, reports, and schedules in an organized and timely manner.
Ensure that all equipment is kept clean and in excellent working condition through personal inspection and by following the restaurant’s preventative maintenance programs.
Ensure that all products are received in correct unit count and condition and deliveries are performed in accordance with the restaurant’s receiving policies and procedures.
The main purpose of an inventory count is to determine the value of the
cost of goods sold
and of the restaurant’s stock on hand. Having organized handling methods and accurate counts will assist in maintaining an optimum level of stock and identify the deficiencies related to overstocking, low turnover, and expired products.
An inventory is the accurate count of the goods and products that are managed in the restaurant.
Good inventory management is essential to preserve our quality products. Inventory management and control begins with product reception (raw materials, ingredients, and/or final products), appropriate storage, adequate turnover, and product preparation.
PROCEDURE FOR INVENTORY COUNT
1. The night assistant manager conducts final inventory after the restaurant has closed.
2. Use the count sheets generated by the computer system to conduct inventory count; the products to be counted will be listed. This sheet is to be filled out by carefully jotting down the stock that is on hand.
3. Avoid cross-outs; try to write numbers clearly to avoid mistakes in the information that is presented.
4. The manager will proceed with the inventory count, beginning at storage areas (walk-in cooler, freezer, and dry storage), then in the production areas, and lastly in the dispatch area.
5. Make sure that the different areas have been equipped and supplied appropriately to ensure that the products in all areas have been taken into account and data is not duplicated.
6. Conduct an accurate inventory the first time to avoid loss of time by unnecessary revisions.
7. Proceed to enter count into the computer system after finishing inventory of products that are listed on the count sheet.
Entering the Inventory Count in to Menu Link
1. Verify that purchase orders have been registered into the system.
2. Check invoices and/or deliveries, according to delivery date and supplier.
3. Pay special attention to products that were not received, credits from suppliers, or changes in the amounts delivered.
4. Register the transfer of product loans between restaurants.
5. Register the products that were wasted during the day.
6. Start entering data into the inventory system. Check the units of measure used in the system before entering data of counted product.
7. After entering the count into the system, proceed to generate a snapshot of the inventory variance.
8. After making sure that the inventory that was entered into the system is verify, proceed reconciling (refer to POS system operation manual).
COST CONTROL MANAGEMENT
CLASSIFICATION OF EXPENSES
Expenses that vary proportionally to the quantity of sold products. The increase or decrease of this expense is proportional to the sale.
Salaries and Wages
Repairs and Maintenance
Most of the time it has no direct relation with the quantity of product sold. Fixed expenses are not altered when sales volume varies.
Example: Restaurant Occupancy Cost
FACTORS THAT AFFECT COST
1. Inventory Management
Raw material cost
Accuracy at receptions of raw material
Handling of raw material
2. Production Area
Quality control of products
Calibration and maintenance of equipment
Instilling awareness to employees on the optimization of resources, equipment use, and accurate production processes
3. Dispatch Area
Order accuracy on packaging
Package rotation and use
Complying with recipe quantities
Knowledge of menu distribution
Use of monitors and printers
Do not put the quality of our product at risk because of money-saving or minding costs and expenses in an inadequate, negative, or misunderstood manner.
Keep a close control on the direct labor in the best possible way in order to control the restaurant’s expenses.
The variations in inventory and distributed product are the principal elements to have in mind concerning the restaurant’s costs.
The restaurant’s profitability can be enhanced by optimizing expenses and costs.
Portion control in preparing menu items ensures consistency in the product and that the cost of the item is consistent with the menu price.
If extra portions are used without additional charges, the COGS is going to be higher than what was planned.
Employees must be trained in proper apportionment and the reasons behind it.
There are other ways to limit theft:
Keep all doors locked that are not being used as an entrance and exit by your guests.
Do surprise checks on the cash register during the shift.
Show up at the location when the staff does not expect you. You may be surprised.
Keep the office off-limits when management is not there.
Do not allow off-duty employees and friends in non-guest areas.
Watch for suspicious activity or people going where they do not belong.
Do not keep large amounts of cash at the location or in the cash register.
Check the surveillance cameras frequently.
It can be caused by:
Preparing too much that you cannot sell
Training of the employees resulting in chicken that cannot be sold.
Improper storage and handling of food products.
Waste will occur, and when it does occur, it needs to be documented.
Waste can be reduce by following this basic rules:
1. Rotate all food in inventory whether refrigerated, frozen, or dry storage. Always put the new inventory behind or under the old inventory.
2. Never over-order. Base your order on sales projections and add a little extra to cover any emergencies that may arise.
3. Keep perishable food refrigerated or frozen. Check the temperature of your refrigerated equipment daily.
4. Minimize spilled food and empty out the containers thoroughly.
Here is the process to determine COGS.:
Look for the price from the most current invoice from your distributor for the particular item.
Then divide the number of portions you can get from that item into the price from the invoice.
This gives a dollar amount for the portion of the product used to make the item.
By not thinking from a selling cost point of view, it is easy to overlook what the potential income would have been if the asset had been controlled. It is a portion of this difference that determines your profitability
Always think of the selling potential that is lost when you do not control your products!!!
COST & CONTROLS
When speaking of costs and controls, think in terms of DOLLARS!!
Everything used has a dollar cost.
Having the ability to limit that cost through the use of controls directly affects the profitability of your location!!
, are those on that we have little control and include rent or mortgage payments, state and local taxes, and the initial investment in Campero.
, are those that fluctuate in their dollar amounts and can be greatly affected by the procedures and controls placed on them.
It is possible to waste money without
Controlling costs ensures that waste is
minimized, theft is minimalized, the asset is being used to its fullest potential, and the most dollars are going to the bottom line of the profit and loss statement.
Included in these variable costs are
food, paper, and cleaning supplies, along with payroll, utilities, administrative costs, advertising costs, etc.
When considering the cost of these products (assets), realize that the full cost is not what was paid for it, but rather what potential income that product would have brought if sold.
If a chicken was made with the actual cost of ingredients being $2.00, but the chicken was never sold because somebody stole it, the loss is not only $2.00, but also the $4.99 it would have sold for.
FOOD COST & CONTROLS
COGS is the dollar amount you paid for a particular food item (a piece of chicken, a bag of fries, a gallon of oil, or a takeout box). All have a dollar cost attached to them
Every food item that is used at your location must have a cost associated with it.
The cost may fluctuate due to market conditions. Ex: Vegetables
To make sure that you are using the most accurate prices in determining your costs, you must update your files by using the most current invoices from the distributors and the prices from them.
Determining COGS Percentages:
Once the total dollar COGS for the menu item has been determined, the COGS percentage can be determined. The COGS percentage is the percentage of the selling price in relation to the cost of the menu item.
If the cost of the ingredients is $1.80 and the selling price is $6.99
Take the $1.80 and divide it by the selling price of $6.99.
This gives a COGS percentage of 26%
HOW TO CONTROL COSt
Control COGS through the use of several resources. Proper purchasing and receiving procedures ensures that the correct quantity and quality of food products are delivered.
Training the employees ensures that they are using the food products in the proper manner.
Following the portion charts when making menu items gives you a consistent cost per item.
Using the proper forms to track and eliminate waste ensures you the highest return from the available product.
Implementing a weekly inventory system ensures the ability to manage your COGSs.
Theft, by both employees and guests, is a common problem and comes in several forms:
stealing food products
Letting the employees know theft will not be tolerated is an excellent start. Being involved in the operation and keeping track of your assets will keep you informed.
On Top of All That!!
Hourly wages represent 14% of net sales
One of the expense accounts where the manager’s skills has most influence on
Tips on how to properly manage this account:
Schedule (Gantt chart)
Use of Menu Link system to control working hours
Control overtime hours
Personnel quantity has to be in accordance with sales volume
The role of the manager in a Campero restaurant is very important. As the manager, you are responsible for the sales, costs, training, employee retention, guest service and satisfaction, food quality, cleanliness, and sanitation of the restaurant.
The reorder point is the ideal quantity available of product that guarantees that demand will be covered.
Follow the steps below in order to define the reorder point:
For products that are counted every day:
1. Define daily product consumption.
Formula: product consumption in a month
divided by number of days
For sales of 30,000 chicken pieces in one month
30,000 / 30 days = 100 pieces a day
2. Determine the period between deliveries of orders.
If the days when orders are delivered are on Tuesdays and Fridays:
The order that is delivered on Tuesday must cover demand for three days (Tuesday through Thursday).
The order that is delivered on Friday must cover demand for four days (from Friday through Monday).
To calculate the reorder point, the longest period—four days—should be used (Friday to Monday).
3. Define reorder point.
Multiply the average daily sales by the number of days it takes for delivery, and then add a safety margin of 20 percent.
Controlling costs and expenses are two of the most important activities that the managers needs to follow into the restaurant.
Take a look at the following analysis:
As you can see, the most important expenses to control in the restaurant are COGS and LABOR.
To Lower Cost/Expense
Spend less money by any means in order to accomplish such reduction.
Image is deteriorated because of poor product quality and poor customer service
Loss of customers
Achieve the standards and parameters established for costs in compliance with product and service quality of Campero.
Increase of satisfied customers
Increase of sales
COST & EXPENSES
Cost of raw material and packaging
Food cost; represents 32–34% of net sales
Necessary expenses to operate the restaurant even though they are not related with product
Represents approximately 45% of net sales
Three most important areas to control
There are two types of cost to be considered:
1. Theoretical cost:
Cost based by recipe; for every sale the POS system discounts the items included in the recipe from the inventory. This cost does not include waste or variances.
2. Actual cost:
Cost based by recipe including waste and variance. This is the
of your restaurant operations
Important tips for efficient management:
Scaled switching-on equipment
Walk-in coolers, freezers, and air conditioning working properly
Bathrooms working properly
Responsible use of running water
Calibration of gas equipment
Use the necessary equipment
3. Equipment Faclities
Maintenance and repairs
Care and cleaning of equipment
Precautionary maintenance of equipment
Adequate employment of equipment
Personnel training on the proper use of equipment
Creation of a flowchart for cleaning activities
Personnel training on the proper use of chemicals
Dispensers working properly
Personnel care and adequate use of work utensils