Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The Six Kingdoms

No description

Alicia Bartels

on 15 December 2015

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The Six Kingdoms

When Linnaeus developed his system of classification, there were two kingdoms: Plant and Animal.
History of Kingdoms
Where scientists found/find archeabacteria
Consists of unicellular organisms.
Varieties of features
All plants are multicellular eukaryotes.
Unicellular Eubacteria
Include the bacteria in yogurt and what causes strep throat.
The Six Kingdoms
Eukaryotic protist
Sometimes called the "odds and ends" kingdom because its organisms are very different from one another.
Mushrooms on a decaying stump
Includes mushrooms, molds, and mildew.
All animals are multicellular eukaryotes.
Until recently, most scientists classified organisms into five kingdoms, with all bacteria in a single kingdom called Monerans.
Today, the system of classification includes six kingdoms:
archaebacteria, eubacteria, protists, fungi, plants, and animals.
Organisms are placed into kingdoms based on their type of cells, their ability to make food, and the number of cells in their bodies.
Means "ancient bacteria."
Archaebacteria existed on Earth for billions of years before dinosaurs appeared.
Scientists think that today's archaebacteria might resemble some of Earth's early life forms.
Can either be autotrophic or heterotrophic.
Some live on the ocean floor, some in salty water, and some in hot springs.
Archaebacteria are prokaryotes; organisms whose cells lack a nucleus.
Like archaebacteria, these are unicellular prokaryotes that can be either heterotrophs or autotrophs.
Classified differently because their chemical makeup is different from that of archaebacteria.
Some are autotrophs and some are heterotrophs.
Some are unicellular and some are multicellular.
Protists, unlike bacteria, are eukaryotes; organisms with cells that contain a nuclei.
Most fungi are multicellular eukaryotes.
A few, such as yeast, are unicelluar eukaryotes.
Fungi are found almost everywhere on land, but only a few live in fresh water.
All fungi are heterotrophs and most feed on dead or decaying organisms.
Plants are autotrophs that make their own food.
Includes a variety of organisms.
Some plants produce flowers, some can grow very tall, and others never grow taller than a few centimeters.
All animals are heterotrophs.
Animals have different adaptations that allow them to locate food, capture it, eat it, and digest it.
Found in various environments all over Earth.
Full transcript