Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Copy of Period of Activism


frances ruby nabos

on 24 January 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Copy of Period of Activism

(1970-1972) Period of Activism Historical Background Ponciano Pineda
-youth activism in 1970-72 was due to domestic and worldwide causes.

Because of the ills of society, the youth moved to seek reforms.

* the democratic government is stable and that it is only the people running the government who is at fault.
* socialism or communism should replace democracy, thus, armed groups were formed to bring down the democratic form of government. - resulted in the declaration of Martial Law in 1972. However, we can say that the seeds were earlier sown from the times of Lapu-lapu, Lakandula, and Rizal.

"The youth is the hope of the Fatherland" - Rizal A. Seeds of Activism E. Palanca Awardees for Literature in English F. Writers During this Period D. Writing During the Period of Activism The following is an example of the writings that prevailed during this period. B. Period of the Bloody Placards C. The Literary Revolution The youth became completely rebellious during this period. They held pens and wrote on placards in red paint the equivalent of the word MAKIBAKA.
The literature of the activists reached a point where they stated boldly what should be done to effect these changes.
Some of those who rallied to this revolutionary form of literature were Rolando Tinio, Rogelio Mangahas, Efren Abueg, Rio Alma,and Clemente Bautista. Pineda also said that this was the time when the youth once more proved that it is not the constant invasion that shape our race and nationalism.
"There is a limit to one's patience. It may explode like a volcano if over strained." Marahil dahop ang dila ko upang isaulo’t ipaliwanag
Ang panaginip at kamatayan ng sanglaksang anak-pawis
Saksi ako sa palahaw ng mga dalagitang tila kinatay na baboy
habang ginagahasa ng mga hayok na pulitiko’t negosyante
Sa sabuyan ng putik ng mga kongresistang pagkuan,
kapiling ang kani-kaniyang alipores at Tagapayong Puti
ay naguunahang ibenta ng bayan
Ano ang silbi ng kabayanihan? Ng limos na laurel at ginto?
Ipangangalan sa iyo’y isang kalyeng baku-bako o kaya’y lumuting monumentong ihian ng mga lasenggo? Maybe in my mind is impoverished to explain, to put to memory
The dreams and deaths of the poor
I’m witness to the cries of young girls butchered like pigs
While being raped by greedy politicians and businessmen.
In the mudslinging of congressmen, who at once join their followers and alien advisers who compete to sell their country
What price heroism? Of laurel and golden alms?
They’ll name you after a crooked street or a mossy monument which drunkards use for throwing. Translation The irreverence for the poor reached its peak during this period of the mass revolution. These few stanzas written in English from a poem of Federico Licsi Espino will prove this: Hands that broadcast sweat
Brandish placards of protest
In the haciendas of Negros
Sugar cane turns bitter
In the rice granaries of Luzon
Hatred, hammers, sickles,
On old newspapers
Students write the rubrica of dissent
Why should they who roast
The suckling grown loan on verbiage?
Why should they who plant and grind
The corn grow thin on grit and homing?

Strike! Strike! Strike!
A dormant hate errupts
Bundok Buntis, Arayat, Kanlaon! 1970-71 (from 1st to 3rd prize)
The Ritual by Cirilo F. Bautista
Beast in the Fields by Resil Mojares
Children of the City by Amadis Ma. Guerrero
The Archipelago by Cirilo F. Bautista
Five Poems by Wilfredo Pascua Sanchez
From Mactan to Mendiola by Federico Licsi Espino, Jr. Short Story 1971-72 (from 1st to 3rd prize)
The Tomato Game by N.V.M. Gonzales
The Apollo Centennial by Gregorio C. Brillantes
After This, Our Exile by Elsa Martinez Coscolluela
Batik Maker and Other Poems by Virginia R. Moreno
The Edge of the Wind by Artemio Tadena
Tinikling (A Sheaf of Poems) by Federico Licsi Espino, Jr. Poetry 1970-71
The Grotesque Among Us by Maiden Flores
Age of Prometheus by Jesus T. Peralta
Operation Pacification by Alfredo O. Cuenco, Jr.
Grave for Blue Flower by Jesus T. Peralta
The Undiscovered Country by Manuel M. Martell
3rd prize (divided among the three)
The Boxes by Rolando S. Tinio
Now is the Time for All Good Men to Come to the Aid of Their Country by Julian E. Dacanay
The Renegerade by Elsa Martinez Coscolluela One-Act Play Jose F. Lacaba's books that wrote of the tragic and tumultuous moments in our country's history

* Days of Disquiet
* Nights of Rage
* The First Quarters Storm and Related Events

He mentions that those students demonstrating at that time knew and were aware that what they were doing would be crucial to our country's history. Student leaders thought up grandiose names for their organizations and hence, the proliferation of acronyms like:

*SDK Politicians endorsed bills for those who interfered with student demonstrators.

Mayor Antonio Villegas himself, on Feb. 18, 1970, led demonstrators away from angry policemen.

Other politicians like Eva Estrada Kalaw, Salavador Laurel, and Benigno Aquino Jr. wrote about condemnation of police brutalities. Other writers strove to pour out their anguish and frustrations in words describing themselves as "GASPING FOR THE AIR, THIRSTING FOR WATER OF FREEDOM"

Thus, the Philippine Center for the International PEN (Poets, Essayists, and Novelists) held a conference centering on the writer's lack of freedom in a climate fear. Writers:

Nick Joaquin
S.P. Lopez
Gregorio Brillantes
F. Sionil Jose
Petrolino Daroy
Letty Jimenez-Magsanoc
Mauro Avelina
-Jose Burgos Jr.
-Antonio Ma. Nieva

-Lino Brocka

-Leonidas Benesa

-Gloria Rodriguez

-Anna Leah S. de Leon
Full transcript