Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Hinduism & Buddhism

A look at the Beginnings of Hindusim and Buddhism for World Cultures 6th grade.

Erin Appl

on 17 September 2010

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Hinduism & Buddhism

Hinduism & Buddhism World Cultures 2010 Buddhism “Buddha” was the title given to the man who started the philosophy and religion known as Buddhism. Buddha was born with the name Siddhartha Gautama. He lived between 560 B.C. and 480 B.C.
Siddhartha was a prince in Nepal, a country north of India in the Himalayan foothills. As a young man, he was raised in luxury and
his parents made sure he never saw anything that was sad or unpleasant. One day Siddhartha left the palace and journeyed to the outside world. For the first time he saw old age, sickness, and death. These sights shocked him and changed the course of his life. Siddhartha gave up his kingdom and left his wife and children in order to search for the reasons why men must experience suffering and sadness. He wandered for six years through northern India without finding the answer. Then one day, while meditating under a tree, the answer came to him. When this happened, he became known as “Buddha” which means the “Enlightened One” – the one with spiritual knowledge. Buddha preached his first sermon in Deer Park in the Indian hold city of Benares. He dedicated the rest of his life to helping people overcome suffering. Buddha’s teachings included the “Four Noble Truths.” The first truth was that suffering is a part of life. Also, because of man’s actions in this life, he may be reborn into more suffering in the next life. The second truth stated that the origin of man’s suffering is his desire for things he cannot have and his attachment to material objects. The third truth taught that man must overcome his desires in order to get rid of suffering and find peace. Life is Suffering Suffering = Material Objects Overcome your Desires The fourth truth showed man how to overcome desire by following the “Noble Eightfold Path.” The Eightfold Path consisted of eight practices: (1) right faith, (2) right resolve to resist evil, (3) right speech, (4) right action, (5) right living, (6) right effort, (7) right thought, and (8) right meditation. 1 - Right Faith 2 - Right to Resolve to Resist Evil 8 - Right Meditation 3 - Right Speech 7 - Right Thought 6 - Right Effort 4 - Right Action 5 - Right Living According to Buddha, man would go through several rebirths before he would be able to overcome his desires. Those who finally rid themselves of all desires would reach “nirvana.” In nirvana, man’s soul would stop its cycle of rebirth and would become one with the Universe. Buddha encouraged his followers to become monks and nuns in order to spread his teachings. At first, Buddhism was slow to spread in India because it was opposed by powerful Brahmin priests who were leaders of the Hindu religion. However, during the 200’s B.C., an Indian ruler named Asoka made Buddhism the official religion and sent missionaries to spread Buddhism to Central and East Asia. After Asoka’s death, Buddhism became less important in India because it was gradually absorbed into Hinduism. Today, Buddhism has less than a million followers in India, but it remains popular in China, Korea, Japan, and many countries of Southeast Asia. Buddhism greatly influenced art and architecture throughout Asia. Statues of Buddha are common as are Buddhist temples. One such temple is the pagoda, a sacred pyramid-shaped tower that is frequently seen in China, Japan, and Korea. A pagoda has roofs curving upward where each story of the tower meets the next story above. Hinduism Hinduism is the religion of approximately 83 percent of the population of India. There are three major points to remember about the Hindu religion. 1. Hindus believe in reincarnation, which teaches that a person is born, lives, dies, and is reborn again many times. 2.Hindus believe in karma, which states that a person’s social position in the next life depends upon his/her conduct in the present life. 3.Hindus believe in dharma, which provides a code of behavior or set of moral and ethical rules governing the conduct of each social class. An upper class Hindu and a lower class Hindu have different sets of rules or dharmas to live by. 1. Priests/teachers: Brahmin
2.Warriors: Kshatriya
3.Merchants/farmers: Vaisya
4.Laborers: Sudra
so low that they are actually outside the system and are not a caste
Full transcript