Send the link below via email or IMCopy
Present to your audienceStart remote presentation
- Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
- People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
- This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
- A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
- Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article
Do you really want to delete this prezi?
Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.
Make your likes visible on Facebook?
Connect your Facebook account to Prezi and let your likes appear on your timeline.
You can change this under Settings & Account at any time.
3.2 Cost and Revenues
Transcript of 3.2 Cost and Revenues
Ryanair, Europe's leading low-cost operator, announced that it would just break even in 2009 - no loss but no profit either - if the oil prices stay below $100 a barrel. The fall in the price of oil - a huge variable cost for airlines - means that Ryanair will not be forced to increase fares again.
Source: guardian.co.uk (adapted)
Think of five ways in which Ryanair could cut their costs or increase their revenues.
Read article - Ryanair top 10...
LQ: To what extent when price covers variable cost can it be considered profit.
Evaluate cost and profit centers.
Types of Costs
Cost control is vital to a business if they are to maintain and increase their profitability. Additionally, cost data is needed to assist in making important decisions.
The types of costs are:
Fixed, Variable and Semi- Variable Costs
- costs that do not vary with the level of output. Examples are: rent, salaries, marketing costs (advertising) and insurance.
- costs that change in proportion of level of output. Examples: direct labour (pay per hour or per unit), raw materials and packaging costs.
Total Costs = Fixed costs + Variable costs
- these include both a fixed and a variable element. Example: delivery van - fixed is insurance and license, variable is fuel and servicing.
- is specifically related to a individual project or product.
one of the direct costs of a hamburger in McDonald's is the cost of the meat
one of the direct costs in a garage in servicing a car is the cost of the labour cost of the mechanic
The two most common direct costs in manufacturing are labour and materials. The most important direct cost in a service business such as retailing, is the cost of goods sold.
- costs which cannot be identified with a unit of production - also known as
These are usually classified into four main groups:
- factory rent, power
Selling and distribution overheads
- warehouse, packing and distribution costs, salaries of sales staff
- office rent, clerical and executive salaries
- interest on loans
A. Classifying Costs
- the income received from the sale of a product.
- total income from the sale of all units of the product.
Revenue = Quantity x Price.
Profit = Total Revenue - Total Costs.
A business may receive income from sources other than its normal operating activities such as?
The contribution of a product refers to how much it contributes to the fixed costs and profit of the business once variable costs have been covered.
It can be calculated either per unit of output or in terms of total contribution of all units produced.
contribution per unit = price - variable cost (per unit)
total contribution = total revenue - total variable cost
Cost formulas Summary
TC = FC + VC
AC = TC / Q or AFC + AVC
AFC = TFC / Q
AVC = TVC / Q
TFC = AFC * Q
MC = change in TC / Change in Q
Total Revenue = Price * Quantity
Average Revenue = TR / Q
Marginal Revenue = Change in TR / Change on Q
Profit = Total Contribution - TFC + Overheads
Calculate the TC if:
FC for the year = £55,000
VC = £10 per unit
Output = 22,500 units
Calculate the FC if:
TC for output of 1,000 = £42,000
VC = £1.50 per unit
Case Study : British Aerospace
Explain the ATC graph. (4 Marks)
TC = FC + VC
55,000 + 10 * 22,500 =
55,000 + 225,000 = 280,000
TC = FC + VC
42,000 = FC + 1.50 * 1000
42,000 = FC + 1500
FC = 40,500
Business Costs Quizz
Revision presentation: Costs
Costs, Revenue and Profits Quizz
Case Study: Ice Cream Production
Strategies to increase profits???
Increase total contribution by increasing sales
the sale of a fixed asset no longer needed.
rent from factory or office space to another business.
dividends on shares held in another business.
interest on deposits held in a bank.
Subsidies, grants, donations, fund raising, sponsorship.
Benefits of contribution analysis:
Manage product portfolio.
Make or buy decisions.
Special order decisions.
3.2 Costs and Revenues
What other sources of income do firms have other than sale of goods or services?