Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


To Infinity & Beyond

No description

kristina ginaldi

on 4 May 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of To Infinity & Beyond

What Is Our Solar System?
Our solar system is eight planets and their moons in orbit of the sun, and small bodies in form of asteroids, meteors, and comets. Pluto was originally classified as the ninth planet from the Sun. The understanding that Pluto is only one of several large icy bodies in the outer Solar System discovered by the International Astronomical Union (IAU) to define formally in 2006 what it means to be a "planet". This definition excluded Pluto and reclassified it as a member of the "dwarf planet" category. Since then, we have only had eight original planets.

A comet is an astronomical object that is composed of a mass of ice and dust and has a long luminous tail produced by vaporization when its orbit passes close to the Sun. A comet follows an orbit that may bring it close to a star, such as the Sun, and as it approaches the star, a portion of its ice core may melt and release a trail of dust-sized particles. This cycle can continue for millions of years.
Mercury is the smallest and closest to the Sun of the eight planets in the Solar System, with an orbital period of about 88 Earth days. Seen from Earth, it appears to move around its orbit in about 116 days, which is much faster than any other planet. Also, like Venus and the Moon, it displays a complete range of phases as it moves around its orbit relative to Earth.
To Infinity & Beyond
Earth is the third planet from the Sun and the densest planet in the Solar System. It is also the largest of the Solar System's four terrestrial planets. Within its first billion years, life appeared in its oceans and began to affect its atmosphere and surface, then forming the Earth's ozone layer.
An asteroid is a piece of rock and metal that orbits the sun. According to present day astronomers, asteroids are debris left behind by the Big Bang, which could not come together to form another planet, because of the effect of Jupiter's gravitational pull. Whatever their size, asteroids are neither big enough to be called planets, nor are they as small as comets.
A meteor is a mass of rock from space that burns up after entering the Earth's atmosphere. Believe it or not, a meteor does not follow an orbit around the sun. It even has it's own name while it's still floating in space - known as a meteoroid. It's only known as a meteor when it enters the Earth's atmosphere.
Venus is the second planet from the sun, orbiting it every 224.7 Earth days. It has the densest atmosphere of the four terrestrial planets, consisting of more than 96% carbon dioxide. A terrestrial planet is a planet that is composed primarily of silicate rocks or metals. Examples of terrestrial planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth, and Mars.
is the fourth planet from the Sun
the second smallest planet in the
System, after Mercury. Named

Roman god of war, it is often
as the "Red Planet" because
the iron oxide
prevalent on its surface
gives it a

appearance. Mars is
a terrestrial
planet with a thin
, having surface features
both of the impact craters
of the Moon
and the volcanoes,

, and polar ice caps of
Jupiter is the fifth planet from the Sun and the largest planet in the Solar System. Jupiter is classified as a gas giant along with Saturn, Uranus and Neptune. Together, these four planets are sometimes referred to as the Jovian or outer planets. The planet was known by astronomers of ancient times, and was associated with the mythology and religious beliefs of many cultures.
Saturn is the sixth planet from the Sun and the second largest planet in the Solar System, after Jupiter. Named after the Roman god of agriculture, its astronomical symbol that represents the god himself. The planet also exhibits a pale yellow gas due to ammonia crystals in its upper atmosphere.
Uranus is the seventh planet from the Sun. Uranus's atmosphere, although similar to Jupiter's and Saturn's, it is mostly made up of hydrogen and helium, and contains more "ices" such as water, ammonia, and methane, along with traces of hydrocarbons. Even though we call them gas giants, most present day astronomers call Uranus, and Neptune "ice giants."
Neptune is the eighth and farthest planet from the Sun in the Solar System. Among the gaseous planets in the solar system, Neptune is the most dense. Neptune was also named after the Roman god of the sea, and its astronomical symbol is a stylized version of the god Neptune's trident. Traces of methane were found in the outermost regions in part account for the planet's blue appearance. In contrast to the hazy atmosphere of Uranus, Neptune's atmosphere is notable for its active and visible weather patterns as well.

By: Kristina Ginaldi
Full transcript