Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The Rosary

No description

Miriam Sidrak

on 21 July 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The Rosary

The Traditional Rosary is one of the most cherished prayers of our Catholic Church.The Rosary is a form of devotion in which five or fifteen decades of Hail Mary's are repeated, each decade preceded by an Our Father and followed by a Glory Be. The traditional Catholic Rosary regularly has 59 beads. Where on the other hand the traditional Orthodox Rosary has 33 beads in total.
The Traditional Rosary
The Modern Rosary
The purpose of the Rosary is to meditate in its mysteries while repeating Hail Mary, Our Father and the Glory Be. While praying the rosary, repetition is useful as it helps you to achieve concentration and become more focus.
The benefits of praying the Rosary are:
Helping you to understand your life's purpose.
Brings you closer to God and allows Him to actively help you in your life.
Gives you a better ability to know right from wrong.
Creates peace in your life.
Increases your potential to love yourself and others.
Provides guidance in times of despair and hopelessness.
Provides protection against negative influences.
Decreases the desire to sin; helps overcome temptation.
Most importantly - the rosary helps us understand God.

The rosary is a form of combined prayer and meditation that has been around for over 1200 years. The origin of the rosary dates back to the 9th century where Irish monks would recite and chant the 150 Psalms of the Bible as a major part of their worship. People living near the monasteries were drawn towards this beautiful and harmonious devotion, and they became very eager to join in with the monks' prayers.
The Rosary
By Miriam & Katrina
The Rosary focuses on the life of Christ from the Scriptures. The beads of the Rosary are divided into five decades, each decade represents an event from the life of Christ. There are four sets of mysteries containing five events each focused on an important part of the life of Christ.

The four sets of mysteries are also known as :
The Joyful
The Luminous
The Sorrowful and
The Glorious mysteries.

Personal Opinion
We (Miriam & Katrina) both prefer the Traditional Rosary as we have grown up with it and have gotten the habit of praying the Rosary the traditional way.
Although the Modern Rosary is more appealing, attractive and portable, the Traditional Rosary has stayed with us for a long time and so will we. :)
1. The Rosary is intended for meditation.
2. The Catholic Rosary has 59 beads in total.
3. The month of October is associated with the Rosary.
4. Each decade is recited in honour of an event in Our Lord's Life and of his Blessed Mother, Mary.
5. The Rosary has been officially used since 1569, when Pope Pius V approved the devotion.
Extra Information & Images
There are many apps on the App Store that can be accessed to view the Rosary digitally.
Some of the Rosary manufacturers are putting forward a variety of different models, in many cases directed specifically at men. One new model has football-shaped beads to encourage boys who are unwilling to sit through a litany of prayers.
The Modern Rosary has evolved from the Traditional Rosary, which is now more appealing to young viewers as it has the features of voice-overs, sound effects, music, attractive images and colours, and it is also easier to access.
Some apps that can be accessed to view the Rosary on the App store are: The Holy Rosary, Scriptural Rosary Lite, iRosary, Rosary Pro and many more.
The word "Rosary" comes from the Latin word meaning "Garland of Roses".
When you pray the Rosary it is like taking a peaceful walk through Mary's rose garden. A garden filled with beautiful, fragrant roses.

Where did the word Rosary come from?
The Mysteries:
The Joyful Mystery:
1.The Annunciation
2. The Visitation
3. The Birth of Jesus
4. The Presentation in the Temple
5. The Finding of Jesus on the Temple
The Luminous Mystery:
1.The Baptism in the Jordan
2. The Wedding of Cana
3. The Proclamation of the Kingdom
4. The Transfiguration
5. The Establishment of the Eucharist
The Sorrowful Mystery:
1. The Agony in the Garden
2. The Scourging at the Pillar
3. The Crowning with Thorns
4. The Carrying of the Cross
5. The Crucifixion
The Glorious Mystery:
1. The Resurrection
2. The Ascension of Our Lord
3. The Descent of the Holy Spirit
4. The Assumption
5. The Crowning of Mary

Thank- you
Thank-you for listening, we hope you've learnt something new.
Full transcript