Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM

Copy

Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.

DeleteCancel

Make your likes visible on Facebook?

Connect your Facebook account to Prezi and let your likes appear on your timeline.
You can change this under Settings & Account at any time.

No, thanks

Deloitte - Effects of increasing angel investment into early stage tech.

No description
by

phaedon stough

on 18 May 2011

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Deloitte - Effects of increasing angel investment into early stage tech.

The Rise of Angel Investing and its Effects on Emerging Tech. An Overview for Today.........

Angel Investing in 2011

Growth and Trends

Impacts International and Local WHAT IS ANGEL INVESTING? Angel investorFrom Wikipedia,

An angel investor or angel is an affluent individual who provides capital for a business start-up, usually in exchange for convertible debt or ownership equity.

A small but increasing number of angel investors organize themselves into angel groups or angel networks to share research and pool their investment capital. TRENDS IN ANGEL INVESTING 2. Market conditions Consistent Themes.....the Platforms 1.Ann Arbor, MI – SPARK Business Accelerator
2.Atlanta, GA – Shotput Ventures – http://www.shotputventures.com
3.Athens, Greece – OpenFund – http://theopenfund.com
4.Austin, TX – Capital Factory – http://www.capitalfactory.com
5.Austin, TX – TechRanch Austin – http://techranchaustin.com
6.Bangalore, India – iAccelerator – http://iaccelerator.org
7.Bangalore, India – The Morpheus – http://www.themorpheus.com (formerly Morpheus Venture Partners – http://www.morpheusventure.com)
8.Bangalore, India – Upstart.in – http://www.upstart.in/programs.html
9.Barcelona, Spain – SeedRocket – http://www.seedrocket.com
10.Belfast, Northern Ireland – StartVI (Start 6) – http://www.startvi.com
11.Berkley, CA – Berkley Ventures – http://www.berkeleyventures.com
12.Bloomington, IN – Sproutbox – http://www.sproutbox.com
13.Boulder, CO / Boston, MA / Seattle, WA – TechStars – http://www.techstars.org
14.Boston, MA and other cities – IBM Smartcamp – http://www.ibm.com/ie/smarterplanet/smartcamp/
15.Boston, MA – Start@Spark – http://www.sparkcapital.com/start/
16.Cambridge, UK – Springboard – http://springboard.red-gate.com
17.Champaign, IL – iVentures10 – http://www.iventures10.com
18.Chicago, IL – Excelerate Labs – http://www.exceleratelabs.com
19.China – Innovation Works – http://en.innovation-works.com/
20.Copenhagen, Denmark – Startupbootcamp – http://www.startupbootcamp.dk
21.Dalian, China – China Accelerator – http://chinaccelerator.com
22.Dallas, TX – Tech Wildcatters – http://techwildcatters.com
23.Detroit, MI – Bizdom U – http://www.bizdom.com
24.Dublin, Ireland – NDRC’s Launch Pad – http://www.ndrc.ie/projects/entrepreneurial-internships/
25.England – The Difference Engine – http://thedifferenceengine.eu
26.Greenville, SC – NextStart – http://www.nextstart.org
27.Hamburg, Germany – HackFwd – http://hackfwd.com
28.Houston, TX – Houston Tech Center – http://www.houstontech.org
29.Italy – H-Farm – http://www.h-farmventures.com
30.Italy – Working Capital – http://www.workingcapital.telecomitalia.it/2010/03/koinup-selezionata/
31.Jordan – Oasis 500 – http://arabcrunch.com/2010/06/oasis-500-a-startup-accelerator-to-launch-in-august.html (launching in August – no specific site yet)
32.Lexington, MA / Menlo Park, CA – Summer@Highland Capital – http://www.hcp.com/summer/
33.Lexington, KY – The Awesome Inc. Experience – http://awesomeinc.org/the-awesome-experience
34.Limerick, Ireland – The Greenhouse – http://greenhouselimerick.com
35.Lisbon, Portugal – Maverick/SeedCapital – http://maverick.pt http://seedcapital.pt
36.London, UK – Seedcamp – http://www.seedcamp.com
37.Los Angeles, CA – LaunchPadLA – http://www.launchpad.la
38.Madrid, Spain – Tetuan Valley Startup School – http://www.tetuanvalley.com
39.Menlo Park, CA – Lightspeed Venture Partners Summer Grants – http://lightspeedvp.com/summergrants.aspx
40.Montreal, Ca – BOLIDEA – http://blog.bolidea.com
41.Montreal, Ca – Flow Ventures Accelerator Program – http://www.flowventures.com
42.Montreal, Ca – Montreal Startup – http://montrealstartup.com
43.Mountain View, CA – Y Combinator – http://www.ycombinator.com
44.Nashville, TN – JumpStart Foundry – http://www.jumpstartfoundry.com
45.New York, NY – FirstGrowth Venture Network – http://www.firstgrowthvn.com
46.New York, NY – The Hatchery – http://www.hatchery.vc
47.New York, NY – NYC SeedStart – http://www.nycseed.com/seedstart.html
48.Orange County, CA – OCTANe LaunchPad – http://www.octaneoc.org
49.Orem, Utah – BoomStartup – http://boomstartup.com
50.Phoenix, AZ – Gangplank – http://gangplankhq.com
51.Philadelphia, PA – DreamIt Ventures – http://www.dreamitventures.com
52.Philadelphia, PA – Startl – partners with DreamIt Ventures – http://startl.org/apply/accelerator-apply/
53.Pittsburgh, PA – AlphaLab – http://alphalab.org
54.Portland, OR – The Portland Ten – http://www.portlandten.com
55.Providence, RI – Betaspring – http://www.betaspring.com
56.Redwood City, CA – Silicon Valley Association of Startup Entrepreneurs (SVASE) Seed Program – http://www.svase.org
57.San Francisco, CA – The Start Project – http://thestartproject.com
58.San Diego, CA – Springboard program at CONNECT.org – http://www.connect.org/springboard/
59.San Francisco, CA – i/o Ventures - http://www.ventures.io
60.Seattle, WA – Founders Co-op – http://www.founderscoop.com
61.Silicon Valley – PayPal Startup Accelerator – http://www.x.com/community/ppx/xspaces/accelerator
62.Singapore – Neoteny Labs – http://www.neotenylabs.com
63.Singapore – Joyful Frog Digital Incubator (JFDI) – http://jfdi.asia
64.Sydney, Australia – SeedAccelerator – http://www.seedaccelerator.com
65.Taipei, Taiwan – appWorks Ventures Incubator Program – http://appworks.tw/incubator/
66.Toronto, Canada – Extreme Venture Partners University – http://www.extremevp.com/university/
67.Tokyo, Japan – Open Network Lab – http://www.onlab.jp
68.Utah – Startup Utah – http://startuputah.com
69.Vancouver, Canada – BootupLabs – http://bootuplabs.com
70.Washington, D.C. / Durham, NC – LaunchboxDigital – http://www.launchboxdigital.com
71.Waterloo, Ontario, Canada – Impact Ventures – http://www.impact.org
72.Wilmington, DE – BetaFish – http://betafishde.tumblr.com (on Facebook)
73.Zeeland, MI – Momentum – http://www.momentum-mi.com
74.Multiple Locations – The Founder Institute – http://founderinstitute.com
75.Unknown Location – Youniversity Ventures – http://www.youniversityventures.com
Social Entrepreneurship
76.Boulder, Colorado – Unreasonable Institute – http://www.unreasonableinstitute.org
77.Philadelphia, PA – GoodCompany Ventures – http://www.goodcompanyventures.org
78.India – Dasra Social-Impact – http://www.dasra.org/dasra-social-impact.htm
University-Affiliated Startup Accelerator Programs
79.Finland – Aalto University – Aalto Bootcamp – http://aaltoes.com/aaltoes-venture-track/bootcamp/
80.Arizon State University – Edson Student Entrepreneur Initiative - http://studentventures.asu.edu
81.Babson College – Summer Venture Program – http://www3.babson.edu/Newsroom/Releases/Summer-Venture-program.cfm (no specific site avail)
82.Berkeley Entrepreneurship Laboratory – http://entrepreneurship.berkeley.edu/resources/bel.html
83.College of the Atlantic – Sustainable Ventures Incubator – http://www.coa.edu/press-releases_pg1_724.htm
84.Cornell University – eLabs – http://www.elabstartup.com
85.Couri Hatchery at Syracuse University – http://whitman.syr.edu/eee/incubator/
86.Duke University – DUhatch – http://www.cerc.duke.edu/duhatch
87.University of Michigan – RPM10 – http://www.rpmvc.com/rpm10/
88.University of Michigan’s “Techarb” Business Accelerator – http://techarb.org/about/ and http://cfe.engin.umich.edu/businessaccelerator
89.University of North Carolina – Carolina Launch Pad - http://www.carolinalaunchpad.org
90.Penn State University – Lion Launch Pad – http://www.lionlaunchpad.org
91.University of Pennsylvania - Wharton Venture Initiation Program – http://vip.wharton.upenn.edu
92.RIT Student Business Development Lab – http://entrepreneurship.rit.edu/business_lab.php (part of the Venture Creations program at RIT http://www.venturecreations.org)
93.Santa Clara University – Global Social Benefit Incubator – http://www.scu.edu/sts/gsbi/
94.Stanford University – Student Startup Lab – http://sselabs.stanford.edu/
95.Syracuse University – Start-Up Accelerator – http://accelerate.syr.edu/ForStudents/index.aspx
96.Syracuse Student Sandbox at the Tech Garden – http://thetechgarden.com/studentsandbox
97.Union College – U-Start – http://www.union.edu/resources/technology/u-start/index.php
98.The University of Texas at Austin – Texas Venture Labs – http://www.texasventurelabs.net
99.Virginia Tech – DayOne Ventures – http://dayoneventures.com
100.University of Waterloo – VeloCity “Dormcubator” - http://velocity.uwaterloo.ca
101.Wayne State University – SmartStart Business Development Program – http://techtownwsu.org/business/smartstart.php
102.Yale University – Yale Entrepreneurial Institute / Yale Startups – http://www.yalestartups.com World Regions

Africa
Asia
Europe
Middle East
North America
Latin America/Caribbean
Oceania / Australia
WORLD TOTAL ( 2010 Est.)


1,013,779,050
3,834,792,852
813,319,511
212,336,924
344,124,450
592,556,972
34,700,201
6,845,609,960 Internet Users
Dec. 31, 2000
4,514,400
114,304,000
105,096,093
3,284,800
108,096,800
18,068,919
7,620,480
360,985,492 Latest Data
110,931,700
825,094,396
475,069,448
63,240,946
266,224,500
204,689,836
21,263,990
1,966,514,816 Penetration
(% Population)
10.90%
21.50%
58.40%
29.80%
77.40%
34.50%
61.30%
28.70% Growth
2000-2010
2357.30%
621.80%
352.00%
1825.30%
146.30%
1032.80%
179.00%
444.80% Acquisition date
02001-02-12 February 12, 2001
02001-09-20 September 20, 2001
02003-02 February 2003
02003-04 April 2003
02003-04 April 2003
02003-09-30 September 30, 2003
02003-10 October 2003
02003-10 October 2003
02004-05-10 May 10, 2004
02004-07-13 July 13, 2004
02004-09 September 2004
02004-10 October 2004
02004-10-27 October 27, 2004
02005-03-28 March 28, 2005
02005-05-12 May 12, 2005
02005-07 July 2005
02005-07-07 July 7, 2005
02005-08-17 August 17, 2005
02005-11 November 2005
02005-11-17 November 17, 2005
02005-12-20 December 20, 2005
02005-12-27 December 27, 2005
02005-12-31 December 31, 2005
02005-12-31 December 31, 2005
02006-01-17 January 17, 2006
02006-02-14 February 14, 2006
02006-03-09 March 9, 2006
02006-03-14 March 14, 2006
02006-04-09 April 9, 2006
02006-06-01 June 1, 2006
02006-08-15 August 15, 2006
02006-10-09 October 9, 2006
02006-10-31 October 31, 2006
02006-12-18 December 18, 2006
02007-01-04 January 4, 2007
02007-02-16 February 16, 2007
02007-03-16 March 16, 2007
02007-04-17 April 17, 2007
02007-04-19 April 19, 2007
02007-04-13 April 13, 2007
02007-05-11 May 11, 2007
02007-06-01 June 1, 2007
02007-06-03 June 3, 2007
02007-06-05 June 5, 2007
02007-06-19 June 19, 2007
02007-07-02 July 2, 2007
02007-07-20 July 20, 2007
02007-07-09 July 9, 2007
02007-09-27 September 27, 2007
02007-10-09 October 9, 2007
02008-07-30 July 30, 2008
02008-09-12 September 12, 2008
02009-08-05 August 5, 2009
02009-09-16 September 16, 2009
02009-11-09 November 9, 2009
02009-11-09 November 9, 2009
02009-11-23 November 23, 2009
02009-12-04 December 4, 2009
02010-02-12 February 12, 2010
02010-02-17 February 17, 2010
02010-03-01 March 1, 2010
02010-03-05 March 5, 2010
02010-04-02 April 2, 2010
02010-04-12 April 12, 2010
02010-04-20 April 20, 2010
02010-04-27 April 27, 2010
02010-04-30 April 30, 2010
02010-05-20 May 20, 2010
02010-05-21 May 21, 2010
02010-06-03 June 3, 2010
02010-07-01 July 1, 2010
02010-07-16 July 16, 2010
02010-08 August 2010
02010-08-04 August 4, 2010
02010-08-05 August 5, 2010
02010-08-10 August 10, 2010
02010-08-15 August 15, 2010
02010-08-30 August 30, 2010
02010-08-30 August 30, 2010
02010-09-13 September 13, 2010
02010-09-28 September 28, 2010
02010-10-01 October 1, 2010
02010-12-03 December 3, 2010
02010-12-03 December 3, 2010
02011-01-13 January 13, 2011
02011-01-25 January 25, 2011
02011-01-26 January 26, 2011
02011-03-01 March 1, 2011
02011-03-07 March 7, 2011
02011-03-07 March 7, 2011
02011-03-16 March 16, 2011
02011-04-08 April 8, 2011
02011-04-26 April 26, 2011 Company
Deja
Outride
Pyra Labs
Neotonic Software
Applied Semantics
Kaltix
Sprinks
Genius Labs
Ignite Logic
Picasa
ZipDash
Where2
Keyhole, Inc
Urchin Software Corporation
Dodgeball
Reqwireless
Current Communications Group
Android
Skia
Akwan Information Technologies
AOLB
Phatbits
allPAY GmbH
bruNET GmbH
dMarc Broadcasting
Measure Map
Upstartle
@Last Software
Orion
2Web Technologies
Neven Vision Germany GmbH
YouTube
JotSpot
Endoxon
XunleiC
Adscape
Trendalyzer
Tonic Systems
Marratech
DoubleClick
GreenBorder
Panoramio
FeedBurner
PeakStream
Zenter
GrandCentral
Image America
Postini
Zingku
Jaiku
Omnisio
TNC (Tatter and Company)
On2
reCAPTCHA
AdMob
Gizmo5
Teracent
AppJet (EtherPad)
Aardvark
reMail
Picnik
DocVerse
Episodic
PlinkArt
Agnilux
LabPixies
BumpTop
Simplify Media
Ruba.com
Invite Media
ITA Software
Metaweb
Zetawire
Instantiations
Slide.com
Jambool
Like.com
Angstro
SocialDeck, Inc.
Quiksee
Plannr
BlindType
Phonetic Arts
Widevine Tecnologies
eBook Technologies
SayNow
fflick
Zynamics
BeatThatQuote.com
Next New Networks
Green Parrot Pictures
PushLife
TalkBin Impact for you...... Never been a better time to start a business...... Its never been a better time to acquire a emerging technology..... Its never been a better time for enterprise to get involved in angel investing and business creation... 1. What's changed? IMPACT Global Social Media Cloud Computing Mobile Advertising Local Talent "Acqhiring"
Full transcript