Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Copy of Abdominopelvic Quadrants and Regions

A Prezi about the abdominopelvic quadrants and regions.

Gabriel McBride

on 4 September 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Copy of Abdominopelvic Quadrants and Regions

Abdominopelvic Quadrants and Regions Overview The abdominopelvic quadrants and regions are divisions of the abdominopelvic cavity useful for determining the specific location of aches and pains, or specific organs. Four areas divided by perpendicular planes that intersect at the bellybutton
Include Upper Right, Lower Right, Upper Left, and Lower Left Quadrant Abdominopelvic Quadrants Abdominopelvic Regions Nine regions formed by horizontal and vertical planes (see picture)
Useful for more specific location of organs or pain sources Organs Found in Abdominopelvic Regions Right Hypochondriac Region-Upper right region containing liver, gallbladder, and right kidney
Epigastric Region- Upper middle region containing liver, stomach, pancreas, and duodenum
Left Hypochondriac Region- Upper left region containing spleen, colon, liver, small intestine, and left kidney
Right Lumbar Region- Central right region containing right kidney, cecum, colon, liver, right kidney, and small intestine
Umbilical Region- Central middle region containing the navel, colon, ileum, jejunum, duodenum, and kidneys
Left Lumbar Region- Central left region containing colon, small intestine, and left kidney
Right (iliac) Inguinal Region- Lower right region containing the cecum, small intestine, and appendix
Hypogastric Region- Lower middle region containing urinary bladder, small intestine, sigmoid colon, and female reproductive organs
Left (iliac) Inguinal Region- Lower left region containing small intestine, sigmoid colon, and descending colon Abdominopelvic Quadrants (cont.) The four quadrants are general areas, so there are many organs that fall into each quadrant, with some falling into multiple quadrants.
Left Upper Quadrant- gallbladder attack, stomach ulcer
Left Lower Quadrant- Kidney stone (left ureter)
Right Upper Quadrant- Liver
Right Lower Quadrant- Appendicitis Sources "Anatomy Terms." Anatomical Terms: Anatomy Regions, Planes, Areas, Directions, Cavities. Media Partners Inc., 27 Mar. 2011. Web. 24 Aug. 2012. <http://healthpages.org/anatomy-function/anatomy-terms/>.
Lazaraff. "The Nine Abdominal Regions &The Organs Found Therein." The Nine Abdominal Regions. N.p., 4 May 2004. Web. 22 Aug. 2012. <http://shs.westport.k12.ct.us/mjvl/anatomy/intro/nine_abdominal_regions.htm>.
"Human Anatomy." Abdominopelvic Regions. Wordpress, 20 Aug. 2012. Web. 28 Aug. 2012. <http://bloxtonchiropractic.com/humananatomy/tag/abdominopelvic-regions-2/>.
Full transcript