Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM

Copy

Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.

DeleteCancel

Special Dietary Needs

Special dietary needs
by

Carly Saunders

on 19 March 2017

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Special Dietary Needs

"I don't eat meat"
Special Dietary Needs
People who do not eat beef, pork, poultry, fish, shellfish or animal flesh of any kind, but do eat eggs and dairy products
Vegans do not eat meat of any kind and also do not eat eggs, dairy products, or processed foods containing these or other animal-derived ingredients
People who are intolerant of the protein found in wheat, rye, and barley
Vegetarian
Vegan
Gluten Free
Eight foods account for 90% of all food-allergic reactions

1. Milk (butter, yogurt, cheese, ice cream)
2. Egg
3. Peanuts
4. Tree nuts (walnuts, almonds, hazelnuts,
cashew, pistachio, pecan)
5. Fish
6. Shellfish
7. Wheat (bread, flour, roux, breading, desserts)
8. Soy (tofu and sauce)
Allergens
"I have a gluten allergy"
"I'm a vegan"
"I'm lactose intolerant"
Lactose Intolerance is the inability to digest and absorb lactose (the sugar in milk) that results in gastrointestinal symptoms when milk or foods containing milk are consumed
Lactose
Intolerant
Allergic reaction to gluten which inflames the intestine, causing diarrhea and/or abdominal pain
Coeliac
Teriyaki chicken and rice


Beef Bourguignon with mashed potatoes


Pork enchiladas with salsa verde


Chicken tangine with cous cous
Which of the following are gluten free meals?
Yes. Pasta is usually made of durum or semolina wheat.
Does pasta usually contain gluten?
No. Milk allergies are more severe.
Are lactose and milk allergies the same?
Buckwheat

Corn

Quinoa

Rice
(in it's pure form)
Pork enchiladas
with salsa verde
Dietary needs and restrictions are becoming more common.
Suggest reasons why you believe this is occurring.
Teriyaki Chicken-Soy sauce contains gluten

Beef Bourguignon- sauce contains gluten

Cous cous- contains gluten
Examples of
Gluten Free Grains
Thank you
Full transcript