Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Piaget vs. Erikson

No description

Lacey Nivens

on 25 September 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Piaget vs. Erikson

Piaget Theory Overview
Piaget's theory suggests that children move though four stages of cognitive development. The four stages are as follows:
concrete operational
, and
formal operational
His theory focuses not only on understanding how children acquire knowledge, but also on understanding the nature of intelligence.
Personal Informational about Piaget
Information on Erickson
Born: June 15, 1902
Town he was born in: Frankfurt, Germany
Education: University of Vienna
Born in Germany- American developmental psychologist and psychoanalyst known for his theory on psychosocial development of human beings
Spouse: Joan Erickson
3 kids-2 boys 1 girl
Died: May 12, 1994
Erickson Theory Overview
Piaget's Stages
Stage 1:
Starts at
birth to age 2
they learn object permanence,they are seperate from the world around them, realize actions affect the world around them

Erickson's Stages
Infancy: Children develop a sense of trust when parents or caregivers provide reliability, care, and affection. A lack of this will lead to mistrust.
Early Childhood: Need to develop a sense of personal control over physical skills and independence
Piaget vs. Erickson
Born: August 9, 1896
Town: Neuchâtel, Switzerland
Died: September 16, 1980
oldest child of Arthur Piaget, professor of medieval literature at the University, and of Rebecca Jackson
Parents had attributed his intense early interest in the sciences to his own neurotic tendencies
Neurotic tendencies: functional mental disorders involving distress
At the University of Zürich is where Piaget developed an interest in psychoanalysis
3 children
According to Erickson children progress through 8 key stages of cognitive development
Birth to 18 months:Trust vs. Mistrust
When you don't show effections toward the child, like patting them on the head, holding them,
2-3 year old:Autonomy vs. Shame and Dought
3-5 years old:Initiative vs. Guilt
6-11 years old:Industry vs. Inferiority
12-18 years old:Identity vs. Role Confusion
19-40 years old:Intimacy and Isolation
40-65 years old:Generativity vs. Stagnation
65-Death:Ego Integrity vs. Despair
Stage 2:
2 to 7 years
children tend to be egocentric and have a hard time seeing things from other's views,while they are getting better at launguage and thinking they still think in concrete terms.

Trust vs. Mistrust: {birth to 18 months}
When you don't show effections toward the child, like patting them on the head, holding them, giving them care when they cry, they will become distrustful of you or anybody else
Autonomy vs. Shame and Doubt
: {2-3 years old}
Children needs to develope a scence of personal control over physical skills and a scence of independence, when they succeed they get a sence of autonomy, while they fail at something, they get a scence of shame and doubt
Inititive vs. Guilt:
{3-5 years old}
Children at this age need to begin asserting control and power over the environment.
Success in this stage leads to a sense of purpose.
Children who try to use too much power, experence disapproval, resulting in a sense of guilt.
Industry vs. Inferiority
: {6-11 years old}
Children needs to cope with new social and acedemic demands
Success leads to a scence of competence and failer results in feelings of inferiority (which means not feeling attiquite)
Identity vs. Role Confusion
: {12-18 years old} (NEXT SLIDE)
Eriksons Psychosocial Stages
Stage 3:
concrete operational
age 7 to 11
children begin understanding the law of conservation, thinking becomes logical and organized but still concrete,Begin using inductive logic, or reasoning from specific information to a general principle.
Stage 4:
Formal operational
12 and up
Abstact thought occurs Teens begin to think about moral, ethcical, political, social and philosophical
Begin to use deductive logic and reasoning.
Piget's Stages Cont.
Jeremy's Opinion
: I agree more with
, I say this because I am around children all the time and I see more of
theory then I do
Opinion: My opinion is kind of on the fence because of the diffrent things that pop up all the time in kids, like how they learn things.
Erickson's Theory's Continued
Identity vs. Role Confusion
{12-18 years old} Teens need to develop a sense of self and personal identity. Success leads to an ability to stay true to yourself, while failure leads to role confusion and a weak sense of self
Intamacy vs. Isolation:
{19-40 years old} Young adults need to form intimate, loving relationships with other people. Success leads to strong relationships, while failure results in loneliness and isolation.
Erikson's stages continued page 3
Generativity vs. Stagnation:
{40-65 years old}Adults/guardians need to create or nurture things that will outlast them, often by having children or creating a positive change that benefits other people_ Success leads to feelings of usefulness and accomplishment, while failure results in shallow involvement in the world.
Ego Integraty vs. Despair
{65-Death]} This stage leads to feelings of wisdom, while failure results in regret, bitterness, and despair.
I think you can skip rungs on the ladder...If you learn parkor
Full transcript