Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


What's Comm0nwelth

presentazione commonwewelth

beatrice poggi

on 31 May 2017

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of What's Comm0nwelth

How Do Countries Join The Commonwealth?
What's Commonwealth
Some weird facts of commonwealth

The Commonwealth, or The Commonwealth of Nations, is a group of 53 states, all of which (except for two) were formerly part of the British Empire. As nations began the process of succeeding from the British Empire in the early part of the 1900s, it was created, largely, to ease the process of British decolonization. It was seen as a way of maintaining global unity through shared language, history, and culture despite growing independence and self-governance of former British colonies.
For a nation to join the Commonwealth, it must first recognize Elizabeth II as the head of the Commonwealth. Other criteria are equally important - racial equality, and the embrace of world peace, liberty, human rights, equality, and free trade.
A member-state must also be sovereign, accept English as the primary means of communication within the Commonwealth, and have a desire among it's citizens to be a part of the organization.

Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, The Bahamas,
Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize,
Botswana, Brunei, Darussalam, Cameroon,
Canada, Cyprus, Dominica,
Fiji, Ghana, Grenada,
Guyana, India, Jamaica,
Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho,
Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives,
Malta, Mauritius, Mozambique,
Namibia, Nauru, New Zealand,
Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea,
Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Samoa,
Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Singapore,
Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka,
St Kitts and Nevis, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Swaziland, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tuvalu,
Uganda, United Kingdom, United Republic of Tanzania,
Vanuatu, Zambia

Queen Elizabeth II, in her address to Canada on Dominion Day in 1959, pointed out that the confederation of Canada on 1 July 1867 had been the birth of the "first independent country within the British Empire". She declared: "So, it also marks the beginning of that free association of independent states which is now known as the Commonwealth of Nations."] As long ago as 1884, however, Lord Rosebery, while visiting Australia, had described the changing British Empire—as some of its colonies became more independent—as a "Commonwealth of Nations". Conferences of British and colonial prime ministers occurred periodically from the first one in 1887, leading to the creation of the Imperial Conferences in 1911.

Starting in the 16th century, Britain invaded other lands. This was very violent most of the times. This was the origin of the British Empire and of the British colonialism. Some colonies, such as India, had large local populations ruled by British overlords. Others, such as Australia, became colonies for settlement by the British.

During the 20th century, after World War II, the process of decolonization began. The British Empire came to an end. Those nations that wanted independence were granted it. In the case of many countries, notably in the African continent, this has lead to great instability. However, in other countries, it has lead to greater national awareness. Some nations wanted to form a great "family", a special union, for economic, cultural and social reasons. The name of that "family" is "The Commonwealth of Nations".
Commonwealth's flag
1) Lesotho in Southern Africa is one of only three countries in the world completely surrounded by just one other country

2) Singaporeans are the fastest walkers in the world.

3) Kangaroos and Emus appear on the Australian coat of arms because they can’t walk backwards and represent the forward progress Oz strives for.
The head of the commonwealth is queen Elizabeth
Full transcript