Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


World Cup

Information about the FIFA 2010 World Cup in South Africa

steve sexton

on 19 April 2010

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of World Cup

FIFA 2010 World Cup There are a total of 32 Teams competing in the FIFA 2010 World Cup from all over the world. The World Cup is an international football competition contested by the men's national teams. The championship has been awarded every four years since the first tournament in 1930 The current format of the tournament involves 32 teams competing for the title at venues within the host nation over a period of a month this phase is called the World Cup Finals. A qualification phase, which takes place over the preceding three years, is used to determine which teams qualify for the tournament together with the host nation. The World Cup is the most widely-viewed sporting event in the world, where an estimated 715.1 million people watched the final match of the 2006 World Cup held in Germany. When? June 11th to July 11th 2010 The current tournament features 32 national teams competing over a month in the host nation. There are two stages: the group stage followed by the knockout stage.
In the group stage, teams compete within eight groups of four teams each. Eight teams are seeded, including the host, with the other seeded teams selected using a formula based on the FIFA World Rankings and/or performances in recent World Cups, and drawn to separate groups.The other teams are assigned to different Sub-groups, usually based on geographical criteria, and teams in each Sub-group are drawn at random to the eight Main groups
Each group plays a round-robin tournament, guaranteeing that every team will play at least three matches. The last round of matches of each group is scheduled at the same time to preserve fairness among all four teams. The top two teams from each group advance to the knockout stage. Points are used to rank the teams within a group. Three points are awarded for a win, one for a draw and none for a loss. If two or more teams end up with the same number of points, tiebreakers are used to determine seed. The knockout stage is a single-elimination tournament in which teams play each other in one-off matches, with extra time and penalty shootouts used to decide the winner if necessary. It begins with the "round of 16" (Sweet 16 for us Americans) in which the winner of each group plays against the runner-up of another group. This is followed by the quarter-finals, the semi-finals, the third-place match, and the final 5.9 billion total viewers for the whole tournament

10% more total viewers than 2002

Average of 93 million viewers per match
Full transcript