Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM

Copy

Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.

DeleteCancel

Make your likes visible on Facebook?

Connect your Facebook account to Prezi and let your likes appear on your timeline.
You can change this under Settings & Account at any time.

No, thanks

Drivers Ed Ch.1

No description
by

Marina Misshia

on 27 September 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Drivers Ed Ch.1

Drivers License Laws Drivers License Laws (cont.) In 2004, New Jersey ceased the issuance of laminated paper licenses and implemented the use of the digital driver license Digital Drivers License (DDL) If a motorist has a restriction on his/her license (such as the need to wear corrective lenses while driving), it will appear on the license in a coded form. Restrictions are as follows:
1- Corrective lenses required
2- Prosthetic device
3- Mechanical device
4- Hearing impaired
5- Special modifications to an applicant’s vehicle or limited driver privileges for a medical condition Restrictions Basic Automobile License
Expiration: 4 Years
Minimum age: 18 (16 for permit)
Permit fee: $10
Photo license fee: $24
Tests required: Knowledge, vision, road Types of New Jersey Licenses A motorist who operates a motor vehicle in the State of New Jersey must carry a valid driver license, a valid provisional license or a validated New Jersey permit. The motorist must also carry valid insurance and vehicle registration cards.
A motorist with a validated New Jersey driver permit must be accompanied by an appropriately licensed driver.
A motorist who is a legal resident of New Jersey must be licensed in this state.
A motorist who changes addresses must report this change to the MVC within one week after moving. This includes individuals who are moving out of New Jersey.
A motorist who legally changes his/her name (marriage, divorce, adoption) must report the change to the MVC within two weeks.
A motorist with a valid out-of-state license who moves to New Jersey must apply for a New Jersey license within 60 days (commercial driver license – CDL - within 30 days) or before the current license expires, whichever is sooner. The out-of state license must be surrendered prior to receiving a New Jersey license. A motorist who is a foreign national with a valid license from another country may be eligible for a New Jersey driver license. If the motorist receives a New Jersey license, he/she will not have to surrender the out-of-country license.
Operators of commercial vehicles, such as large trucks, buses and vehicles that transport hazardous materials, must satisfy more stringent testing standards than the drivers of automobiles or motorcycles. These operators must still possess a valid, basic New Jersey driver license prior to applying for a CDL.
Individuals who have never had a driver license must complete the MVC’s Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program, which introduces driving privileges in phases with a period of supervised driving before getting a basic driver license.
All applicants for a New Jersey driver license who are under 18 years of age must present a completed consent form signed by a parent or guardian.
GDL, special learner and examination permits are valid until all qualifications for a provisional license are met, or for two years, whichever occurs first. All others are valid for 90 days.
All applicants for a New Jersey driver license must provide a full name, current address, Social Security number, 6 Points of ID Verification and other documentation that verifies that his/her legal presence in the United States is authorized under federal law. Documents must be in English or have an approved translation. The DDL, along with the MVC’s 6
Point ID Verification requirement, helps
to eliminate the prevalence of fraud
and abuse. The DDL is issued at all MVC agencies. Motorists under 21 years of age are
issued a distinctive vertical-format DDL. Most DDLs issued are valid for four years. Altering a driver license or showing an altered driver license may result in loss of a motorist’s driving privilege, a fine of up to $1,000 and/or up to six months imprisonment. In addition, getting a driver license illegally may result in a fine of up to $200 to $500 and/or imprisonment of 30 to 90 days. Probationary Automobile License
Expiration: 4 years
Minimum age: 17
Permit fee: $10
Photo license fee: $6
Tests required: Knowledge, vision, road Commercial Driver License
Expiration: 4 years
Minimum age: 18-21
Permit fee: $125
Photo license fee: $42 Motorcycle License
Expiration: 4 years
Minimum age: 17
Permit fee: $10
Photo license fee: $6
Tests required: Knowledge, vision, road Tests required: Commercial, knowledge, vision, road Provisional Motorcycle License
Expiration: 4 years
Minimum age: 17
Permit fee: $10
Photo license fee: $6
Tests required: Knowledge, vision, road Moped License
Expiration: 4 years
Minimum age: 15
Permit fee: $5
Photo license fee: $6
Tests required:
Knowledge, vision, road Types of licenses (cont.) Agricultural License
Expiration: 4 years
Minimum age: 16
Permit fee: $10
Photo license fee: $6
Tests required: Knowledge, vision, road Boat License
Expiration: 4 years
Minimum age: 16
Permit fee: N/A
Photo license fee: $18
Tests required: N/A In 2001, New Jersey sought to enhance driver preparation and safety by implementing a multi-stage driver licensing system. Known as the Graduated Driver License (GDL) Program, the system gradually introduces driving privileges to first-time drivers, extends their practice driving time and requires a minimum age of 18 in order to receive an unrestricted, basic driver license. GDL restrictions placed upon first-time drivers must be strictly adhered to. Failure to do so may result in a fine of $100 or a possible suspension of a motorist’s driving privilege Graduated Drivers License (GDL) Step 1: Get a Special Learner Permit
Must be at least 16 years old
Must have signed parent or guardian consent
Must be enrolled in approved behind-the-wheel driver training course through the N.J. Department of Education or commercial driving school
An approved instructor must purchase the permit
Must pass MVC’s knowledge and vision tests
Must pay required fee
MVC will validate Special Learner Permits ONLY after training course completion Early Bird Road
Step 2: Practice with an Adult Supervising Driver
Must observe special learner permit driving restrictions
Must practice at least six months Step 3: Get a Probationary License
Must have completed six months of supervised driving without any suspensions or postponements
Must pass MVC’s road test
Must be at least 17 years old Step 4: With a Probationary Driver License
Must practice unsupervised driving for at least one year
Must observe probationary driver license restrictions
Step 5: Get the Basic Driver License
Must be at least 18 years old
Must have completed one year of unsupervised driving with probationary driver license restrictions
Must pay required fee Step 1: Get an Examination Permit
Must pass MVC’s knowledge and vision test
Must be at least 17 years old
Must pay required fee
Must obtain parent or guardian consent if you are under 18 years of age Young Adult Road Step 2: Practice Supervised Driving
Must practice with an adult supervising driver
Must practice at least six months
Must observe examination-permit driving restrictions Step 3: Get a Probationary License
Must have completed six months of supervised driving without any suspensions or postponements
Must pass MVC’s road test
Step 4: Practice Unsupervised Driving
Must practice unsupervised driving for at least one year
Must follow probationary driver license restrictions Step 5: Get the Basic Driver License
Must be at least 18 years old
Must have completed one year of unsupervised driving
Must pay required fee Step 1: Get an Examination Permit
Must be at least 21 years old
Must pass MVC’s knowledge and vision tests
Must pay required fee Adult Road Step 2: Practice Supervised Driving
Must practice with an adult supervising driver
Must practice at least three months
Must observe examination permit driving restrictions Step 3: Get a Probationary License
Must have completed three months of supervised driving without any suspensions or postponements
Must pass MVC’s road test Step 4: Practice Unsupervised Driving
Must practice unsupervised driving for at least one year
Must follow applicable probationary driver license restrictions Step 5: Get the Basic Driver License
Must be at least 18 years old
Must have completed one year of unsupervised driving
Must pay required fee Special Learner Permit Restrictions
No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.
No using hand-held or hands-free cell phones or any other electronic devices.
Permit holder must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age and who possesses a valid New Jersey driver license and has a minimum of three years’ driving experience.
Passengers are limited to any parent, guardian or dependent of the special permit holder and one additional passenger.
Permit holder and all passengers must wear seat belts.
Must display decals on license plates. GDL Driving Restrictions Examination Permit Restrictions
No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.
No using hand-held or hands-free cell phones or any other electronic devices.
Permit holder must be accompanied in the front seat by an adult supervising driver who is at least 21 years of age and who possesses a valid New Jersey driver license and has a minimum of three years’ driving experience.
Passengers are limited to dependants of the permit holder and one additional person, unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.
Permit holder and all passengers must wear seat belts.
Must display decals on license plates. Probationary Driver License Restrictions
No driving between 11:01 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.
No using hand-held or hands-free cell phones or any other electronic devices.
Passengers are limited to dependants of the permit holder and one additional person, unless accompanied by a parent/guardian.*
Probationary license holder and all passengers must wear seat belts.
Must display decals on license plates. FIN.
Full transcript