Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The Newbery Award

No description

Jasmine Hardy

on 29 August 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The Newbery Award

What is the Newbery Award?
The Newbery Award is a literary award that is awarded to the best author of the "most distinguished contribution to American literature for children" given by the Association for Service for Children. The idea of the award is to honor outstanding contributions to children's literature which came from Frederic G. Melcher, a former bookseller.In June of 1921, Melcher suggested the creation of this award at a meeting of the Children's Librarians' Section of the ALA. He proposed that it should be named after John Newbery, the 18th-century English bookseller and author who was known as the father or ''inventor'' of children's literature.The official purpose of the Newbery Medal, as agreed by Melcher and the board, was to encourage originality and excellence in the field of children's books.
Who is the Award Named After
Having great achievements are always the reason why an award is named after a person.This award is named after 18th century English publisher, John Newbery, the"Father of Children's Literature". Newbery is the first publisher to make children literature sustainable and profitable to the market.
Requirements for the Award
The Newbery Award
1. The Medal shall be awarded annually to the author of the most distinguished contribution to American literature for children published by an American publisher in the United States in English during the preceding year. There are no limitations as to the character of the book considered except that it be original work. Honor books may be named. These shall be books that are also truly distinguished.

2. The Award is restricted to authors who are citizens or residents of the United States.

3. The committee in its deliberations is to consider only the books eligible for the award, as specified in the terms.

Continue of Award Recipients
1946: Lois Lenski
born July 9, 1713 in Berkshire, England.
died December 22, 1767 in
son of a farmer
he married a widow(Jordan Mary) who owned a printing business in Reading, England
adopted Mary's three children, John, Thomas and Anna-Maria & three of their own Mary, John, & Son Francis
moved to London in 1743.
Additional Info:
Work By Newbery:
Mother Goose's Melody (1791)
A Little Pretty Pocket-Book (1744)
The History of Little Goody Two-Shoes (1765)
Many More......
1930: Rachel Field
1932: Laura Adams Armer
1922: Hendrik Willem van Loon

Award Recipients:
1937: Ruth Sawyer
1955: Meindert Dejong
1959: Elizabeth George Speare
1964: Rmily Neville
1974: Paula Fox
1986: Patricia MacLachlan
1922: Phyllis Reynolds Naylor
1999: Louis Sachar
2001: Richard Peck
2007: Susan Patron
2010: Rebecca Stead

2013: Katherine Applegate
By: Jasmine Hardy
Full transcript