Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM

Copy

Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.

DeleteCancel

Make your likes visible on Facebook?

Connect your Facebook account to Prezi and let your likes appear on your timeline.
You can change this under Settings & Account at any time.

No, thanks

I Am...

No description
by

Allie Wong

on 6 October 2015

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of I Am...


Hobbies
Besides gymnastics I also enjoy taking pictures. In sixth grade I entered and won my school’s art show. I started taking pictures with the goal of being able to enter contests a few years ago. This year I plan to enter a picture in the San Diego fair. I also play cello. Last year I played for the school orchestra and next year I plan to play for Del Norte’s orchestra. I have been playing since fifth grade. I do not love playing cello as much as I love taking pictures, but it’s always a great feeling when you finally master a song you have been working on for a long time. The thing that is great about learning how to play an instrument is that you will always be able to play that instrument where you might not always be able to do a sport. I do not love either of these things as much as gymnastics, but they are still enjoyable things that I can do for my whole life.
Friends
I have an amazing group of friends. We have only known each other for about a year, but we all have really bonded and we are like family to each other. I met my friend Emelia first. We were in the same class last year and sat next to each other almost the whole year. We get along really well even though we do not have a lot in common. I met Diana through Emelia and we all connected so we decided to start hanging out. Later in the year last year, Diana introduced us to Tracey and she was a great addition to our little group. Besides my school friends I have a lot of friends at my gym. Since we train together for more than twelve hours a week we are all really like sisters. One of my best friends from my gym is named Jessie. I have known her for three years and we can relate to each other really well since she is also an eighth grader. One of my other best friends from my gym is named Izzy. She is only eleven, but she is super sweet and I love her like a little sister.
Goals
After high school I would like to go to Stanford University or UCLA for gymnastics or Brown University for interior design, architecture, or photography. College gymnastics is very competitive and since I am a level six in gymnastics right now, I would have to move up a level every single year in order to get to the level I need to, to go to a college for gymnastics and it is not the most realistic plan. It still is a goal of mine to get to compete for a college because I have wanted too since I started gymnastics. Also, I love gymnastics so much I do not want to have to give it up until I absolutely have to. The reason I would want to go to Brown is because it is an amazing school and it has good connections with the Rhode Island School of Design which is a top design program in the country. After college I would want to move back to California and get a job here because I have yet to find a place that is better than right here.
Family

There are a total of five people in my family. My mom, my dad, my brother, my sister and I. My brother is a senior at Del Norte and he is seventeen. My sister is a sixth grader here. My dad works for Outback Steakhouse and is the CFO for all of the California restaurants. My mom is a stay-at-home mom but she worked for a law firm before my brother was born. Nick, my brother, plays piano and does tae kwon do. Cat, my sister, does competitive gymnastics with me. A fun fact about my sister is that she was adopted from Russia. I do not really get along with my sister that well, but we both get along with my brother. My dad grew up in Riverside and his mom lives in Del Mar now, so we get to see our grandmother a lot. We have a huge extended family because my dad has three siblings and my mom has six. Some of the best memories I have from when I was little was when all eleven cousins from my dad's side of the family would get together at my grandma's house.
I Am...
by Allie Wong
Sports
I started doing gymnastics when I was 18 months old and I have been doing it ever since. I started at a small gym in Orange County and then went to another small gym when I moved to Colorado when I was 3. By the time I was 9 I had moved back to California and finally got the opportunity to be trained well. I went to a large gym that did not have much experience training girls that were on the competitive track. I soon realized that I had a lot of passion for this sport and I wanted to start competitive gymnastics. We got a few suggestions from my coaches for gyms that had competitive teams. Once we found one that was close I signed up for a beginner class. I had no idea what I was getting into when I was invited to the pre-team after my first class. Within two weeks after being invited to the pre-team I was invited to the team. The coaches told me I had a few weeks before our first competition, so I trained for those few weeks and competed. At my first competition I placed on a few events and it sparked a fire inside me. I decided to switch teams because the coaches did not have the best attitude at my first gym. At my second gym I continued to compete. I competed two whole seasons at this gym and then we finally had to leave. At my next gym I got injured and had to quit for nine months. I had fractured the growth plate in my knee and a deep bone bruise. I figured I would never get to do gymnastics again, but I was wrong. I decided one day to go to an open-gym at my original gym and I was invited to the team. After convincing my parents I finally got to train again. Now I am still at that gym and still love it. Currently I am ranked 78th in the state and now a level six which is the fourth highest level you can be. I train up to fifteen hours a week. My life would not be the same without this sport.
This is the picture I won the art show with.
Full transcript