Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Upper and Lower Canada

No description

Alex Vashkevich

on 15 December 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Upper and Lower Canada

Upper and Lower Canada By: Alex and Elysia Why Was New France Separated Into Upper and Lower Canada? Who needed to separate New France? Population of Upper and Lower Canada Upper Canada Lower Canada year year population population 1806 1814 1825 1827 1831 250 000 335 000 479 288 473 475 553 134 1806 1814 1825 1827 1831 70 718 95 000 157 923 177 174 236 702 250 000 70 718 553 134 236 702 Upper Canada Lower Canada Population of lower Canada was much bigger than population of Upper
because Lower
Canada was a larger
territory. DID YOU KNOW?
Lower Canada's population first started out as 250 000 and then went all the way to 717 000 people. The Provinces of Lower and Upper Canada were created by the Constitutional Act of 1791. They were formed from the Province of Quebec (1763-91). Both Lower and Upper Canada were part of New France
New France was given to Great Britain after the victory in the Seven Years War.
Other parts of New France became Newfoundland, New Brunswick and Prince Edward Island.
Names "upper" and "lower" refers to their geographic positions . Lower Canada was located farther downriver from the start of St. Lawrence River than another Province of Upper Canada St. Lawrence River Both Upper and Lower Canada were united into the Province of Canada in 1841 Quebec was the capital of Lower Canada.

The capital of Upper Canada was Newmark (Niagara-on-the-lake) but on February 1st, 1796 it was moved to York (Toronto). Languages In Upper Canada they spoke English but in Lower Canada they spoke English and French Did You Know? Capitals
Full transcript