Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Our Life in the Church Chapter Eight


John Laney

on 3 January 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Our Life in the Church Chapter Eight

Chapter Eight:
The Church Sanctifying - Worship

Holy Week
Why Worship?
Liturgical Seasons
Take a few minutes and write down some of the reasons why we worship.
Human beings have worshipped God since the beginning of time. Worship was often done in public.
The Liturgy
The Liturgy of the Church is made up of three different elements:
1. The Mass.
2. The Sacraments.
3. The Liturgy of the
Hours (the Divine
The Liturgy & Private Devotion
Private devotions - praying the rosary, novenas, or other prayers to saints - are different from Liturgy. The Liturgy is public and formal.
The Mass is the most important part of the Liturgy because it makes Jesus' sacrifice present to us and God the Father.
The Mass
The Sacraments
The other six sacraments are the channels through which God's grace is dispensed to us. Although the ways in which we celebrate them have changed over the centuries, their essential form and matter remains the same.
The Liturgy of the Hours
The liturgy of the hours is a prayer of praise composed of Psalms, prayers, petitions, and readings from the saints that is recited every day by bishops, priests, deacons, and all religious.
The Liturgy of the Hours breaks its prayers down into various hours of the day:
The Rules
So the Liturgy can be a sign of unity for all to see, the Church has laid down universal rules for its celebration.
Although God is outside of time, when He became a Man in the Person of Jesus Christ, He entered into time and sanctified it, or made it holy.
The Liturgical Year is made up of different Liturgical Seasons. As we move from one season to another, our spiritual lives and activities change.
The Liturgical Seasons Continued
The Liturgical Seasons are based upon three major feasts: Christmas, Easter, and Pentecost. They represent the major events in salvation history (the Incarnation, Redemption, and the Birth of the Church).
Liturgical Year
The Liturgical Year begins four Sundays before Christmas. This period of time is called "Advent" which means "coming." It is a penitential season that prepares us for the coming of Christ at Christmas.
During Advent, a lot of the Mass readings are about repentance. We repent of our sins in anticipation of Jesus' coming. Purple is the color of Advent because it is both penitential (sorry for sin), and it is royal (coming of the King).
Advent is also a time for joy be-cause our Savior has come to dwell among us. The third Sunday of Advent is Gaudete Sunday - Rejoicing Sunday.
Lent & Easter
During Holy Week we focus on the events that lead up to Jesus' Passion. The Easter Triduum, or three days, of Holy Thursday, Good Friday, and Holy Saturday, are especially important.
Lent ends with the Easter Vigil. Easter is a time of great joy because Jesus overcame death and rose again. The Easter Season lasts fifty days and ends with Pentecost.
Christmas and
Pentecost celebrates the presence of the Holy Spirit in the Church. Its color is red which symbolizes the Holy Spirit.
The time that falls between the major feast days of the year is called "Ordinary Time." It is not marked by any of the main events of our faith.
Holy Days of Obligation
There are six Holy Days of Obligation when we're required to attend Mass. Theses include:
1. The Immaculate Conception 12-8.
2. Christmas 12-25.
3. Mary Mother of God 1-1.
4. The Ascension (40 days after
5. The Assumption 8-15.
6. All Saints 11-1.
As Catholics, we talk about the "Liturgy." This word comes from a Greek word that means "public work." Eventually, it was used by the Church to mean public worship.
The Officium lectionis or Office of Readings (formerly Matins)
Lauds or Morning prayer
Daytime prayer, which can be one or all of:
- Terce or Mid-Morning Prayer
- Sext or Midday Prayer
- None or Mid-Afternoon Prayer
Vespers or Evening Prayer
Compline or Night Prayer
The Liturgical Year
Advent & Christmas
Advent ends with the celebration of the Christmas Vigil on De-cember 24th.
The next Liturgical Season is Lent, and it begins on Ash Wednesday (40 days before Easter). During this penitential season, we fast, pray, and give alms to the poor.
Lent Continued
This season is closely associated with Jesus' suffering and death. It is a time to remember what He went through for us.
Ordinary Time
So It's Not Important, Right?
Wrong! Ordinary Time is when we reflect on the main events of our faith and develop our love for God more fully. Green is the color of Ordinary Time (it symbolizes life and hope).
Other Feasts
We can divide the rest of the feast days into three categories: holy days, Sunday feasts, and feasts for Mary or the saints.
Sunday Feasts
Many great feast days are celebrated on Sundays throughout the year. For example:
Trinity Sunday
Corpus Christi
Feasts for Mary & the Saints
There are lots of other feast days dedicated to Mary and the saints. For example: Our Lady of Lourdes (Feb 11), Our Lady of Mt. Carmel (July 16), St. Thomas Aquinas Day (Jan 28), St. Blaise Day (Feb 3), St. Patrick's Day (March 17).
The Church provides us with many beautiful and meaningful ways of worshipping God throughout the year. The Liturgical Year reminds us of our faith, and helps us to live for God all year long.
Ordinary Time & Feast Days
Full transcript