Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.



No description

Sarah Connell

on 28 October 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Buddhism

When/ Where was it founded
it was founded in northern India around the 5th century B.C.
Who founded it
the founder of Buddhism is Siddhartha Gautama also called Buddha
Amount of current members and where they are in the world
- they are located in places like Thailand, Cambodia, Myanmar, Bhutan, Sri Lanka, Tibet, Laos, Vietnam, japan, macaw, tiawan, china, South Korea, India
Holy Books and writings:
Pali Tipitika
Vajrayana Canons

Monks believed that passages from the texts known as “dharani” and “mantra” could be recited and held magical powers.

Buddha’s words were never written down. The teachings were passed down through oral transmissions.
First texts described a gathering of 500 followers—or arhats—who got together to remember Buddha’s teachings. Ananda—Buddha’s disciple who accompanied him the most--- recited Buddha’s sermons for he was known to have an excellent memory. Upali—another disciple—recited the laws for monks and lay followers. These recitations were memorized and passed down. After several centuries, these recitations were written down. Even after the texts were created, the primary way of teaching was still the traditional way of oral transmissions.

Mahayana Buddhism
Theravada Buddhism
Vajrayana Buddhism
Tibetan Buddhism Shingon Buddhism
Zen Buddhism
Beliefs and Religion
Early Buddhism shared an understanding of time and the nature of the universe with the brahmanic religion of the time, which taught that the universe had been created and destroyed over and over again over vast periods of time. Within each cycle, there are stages, or kalapas, and the nature of existence is different in each stage. Later Buddhism expanded this vision to include multiple universes, each with its own Buddha and each of which is going through these cycles of creation and destruction
Beliefs and religions (cont.)
There are certain religions that are culture-bound, Judaism is one example. Buddhism is not. It moves very easily from one culture to another because the emphasis of Buddhism is on internal practice rather than on external practice. Its emphasis is on the way you develop your mind rather than the way you dress, the kind of food you take, the way you wear your hair and so forth.
How Buddhists live their lives
Every Buddhist takes refuge in the Three Jewels:
-the Buddha,
- the dharma (the teachings of Buddha),
-and the sangha (the monks).

Dalai Lama
- The Dalai Lama is believed to be a reincarnation of the Bodhisattva of Compassion; Bohisattva are believed to be enlightened beings whom postpone their nirvana and choose rebirth to serve humanity.
- only in Tibetin Buddhism
- There are three commitments that the Dalai Lama must keep.
1. He must promote human values for others to reach their nirvana.
2. He must promote religious harmony and tolerance he must promote understanding and acceptance of other religions.
3. He must preserve Tibet’s Buddhist culture of peace/no violence

- It is believed that Siddhartha Gautama is the Buddha who brought awareness and started the religion of Buddhism.
- His true journey to enlightenment started when he left his home at the age of 29. He was originally from a wealthy family – he was raised as a prince. However, he got tired of living in the palace and left to see what was beyond.

He was shocked to see sickness, old age, and even death in the land. To reach understanding, he resorted to asceticism – starving himself and meditating – but he could not find truth. He then took a spiritual path called ‘The Middle Path’ – he ate some food and filled himself, then sat to meditate. He was determined to not rise from meditation until he reached understanding of life and death. When examining the nature of his body and mind, he obtained complete awakening, or “enlightenment” at the age of 35. He spent the rest of his days spreading his teachings to others.
Facts about Buddhism
Instead of taking an interest in metaphysics and academic theories, the Buddha deals with problems and approach them in a concrete way. This is again something which is very much in agreement with western ideas about utilitarianism. That is, if something works, use it. It is very much a part of western political, economic and scientific philosophy.
dharmacakra, or dharma wheel.
-Composed of eight spokes attached to a center hub and united by an outer rim,
- the dharma wheel symbolizes the "turning of the wheel of the law" that occurred when the Buddha preached his first sermon.
- This turning of the wheel of the law occurs when a world-transforming doctrine is introduced.
Monks were created by some men and women in India who were following his teachings decided to try to live as pure and as good a life as they could. They left their work and their families and all their stuff to live alone or in small groups in the woods. They got their food by begging. Eventually rich Buddhists were built for monks to live in eventually called Monasteries
Mahayana Buddhism is the primary form of Buddhism in North Asia and the Far East, including China, Japan, Korea, Tibet and Mongolia, and is thus sometimes known as Northern Buddhism. Mahayana Buddhists accept the Pali Canon as sacred scripture with the Theravadans, but also many other works, the Sutras, which were written later and in Sanskrit.
Theravada, like all other Buddhist schools, claims to adhere most closely to the original doctrines and practices taught by the Buddha. Theravadins accept as authoritative the Pali canon of ancient Indian Buddhism and trace their sectarian lineage back to the Elders (Sanskrit: Sthaviras; Pali: Theras), who followed in the tradition of the senior monks of the first Buddhist sangha, or community.
Vajrayana, form of Tantric Buddhism that developed in India and neighbouring countries, notably Tibet. Vajrayana, in the history of Buddhism, marks the transition from Mahayana speculative thought to the enactment of Buddhist ideas in individual life.
Tibetan Buddhism is the form of Mahayana Buddhism that developed in Tibet and the surrounding Himalayan region beginning in the 7th century CE.
Tibetan Buddhism incorporates Madhyamika and Yogacara philosophy, Tantric symbolic rituals, Theravadin monastic discipline and the shamanistic features of the indigenous religion, Bön. Among its most unique characteristics are its system of reincarnating lamas and the vast number of deities in its pantheon.
Shingon is a Japanese school of Buddhism introduced from China into Japan in the 7th century by the Japanese monk Kukai

Shingon Buddhist meditation is noted for its use of mantra, art, mudra, imagery, and visualization.
Zen Buddhism focuses on attaining enlightenment (bodhi) through meditation as Siddharta Gautama did. It teaches that all human beings have the Buddha-nature, or the potential to attain enlightenment, within them, but the Buddha-nature been clouded by ignorance. To overcome this ignorance, Zen rejects the study of scriptures, religious rites, devotional practices, and good works. Instead they favor of meditation leading to a sudden breakthrough of insight and awareness of ultimate reality. Training in the Zen path is usually undertaken by a disciple under the guidance of a master.
Works Cited
Full transcript