Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


19th Amendment Presentation Project

No description

Nathan Braham

on 3 October 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of 19th Amendment Presentation Project

19th Amendment Government Presentation
By Nathan Braham The original constitutional documents produced by the Founding Fathers never stated that women of the US were allowed to vote. Even for many decades after, it was not argued improper that only men would vote.
The 19th Amendment was ratified on April 18th, 1920. The battle for women's suffrage was a long and strenuous one, stretching across several generations and regions of the US. Not until the early 1800's did the issue arise, and the movement did not truly begin to grow until the Civil War.
Cemented by the acts and support of women in World War I, the importance of having a second gender active in the nation has advanced the quality and equality of the US government. Seneca Falls Convention On July 19-20th, 1848, a convention was held on women's rights. Organized by local New York women, the convention in Seneca Falls, NY was quite popular, bringing in around 300 people, men and women, some even traveling from other states to attend the meeting.
The majority of the attendees were members of Quaker groups, and thus had developed a drive for equality and acceptance, fueling the convention.
During the meetings, a document called the Declaration of Sentiments was discussed, revised, and signed by attendants. Frederick Douglass called the document the "grand basis for attaining the civil, social, political, and religious rights of women. As men were the working force of the country, by bringing the voice of the home, the women, into the decisions of the country, politics began to cover more social issues. By allowing all members of our nation to vote, we took a large step towards totally equality, and the betterment of our country. One of the powerhouse-speakers of the convention was a Pennsylvanian Quaker by the name of Lucretia Mott. She was outspoken, had a well developed orating ability not commonly found in the female community, and organized the convention with another woman named Elizabeth Cady Stanton.
Stanton was a social activist and a wholly committed member of the women's rights movement. Along with partnering in the organization of the Seneca Falls Convention, she also wrote the Declaration of Sentiments for it. Her strong, unshakable opinions even led to a lengthy, but overall temporary, dual-party split in the women's suffrage movement.
As the first convention primarily formed to discuss woman's rights, Seneca Falls truly began the movement that led to the acceptance of the 19th Amendment into the US Constitution. Seneca Falls Convention (Cont.) The right of citizens of the United States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the United States or by any State on account of sex.

Congress shall have power to enforce this article by appropriate legislation. The Nineteenth Amendment of the United States Constitution The amendment was proposed by Congress on June 4, 1919, and ratified on April 18, 1920. First 38 States needed to ratify the Amendment:

Wisconsin (June 10, 1919)
Illinois (June 10, 1919, reaffirmed on June 17, 1919)
Michigan (June 10, 1919)
Kansas (June 16, 1919)
New York (June 16, 1919)
Ohio (June 16, 1919)
Pennsylvania (June 24, 1919)
Massachusetts (June 25, 1919)
Texas (June 28, 1919)
Iowa (July 2, 1919)[note 1]
Missouri (July 3, 1919)
Arkansas (July 28, 1919)
Montana (August 2, 1919)[note 1]
Nebraska (August 2, 1919)
Minnesota (September 8, 1919)
New Hampshire (September 10, 1919)[note 1]
Utah (October 2, 1919)
California (November 1, 1919) Maine (November 5, 1919)
North Dakota (December 1, 1919)
South Dakota (December 4, 1919)
Colorado (December 15, 1919)[note 1]
Kentucky (January 6, 1920)
Rhode Island (January 6, 1920)
Oregon (January 13, 1920)
Indiana (January 16, 1920)
Wyoming (January 27, 1920)
Nevada (February 7, 1920)
New Jersey (February 9, 1920)
Idaho (February 11, 1920)
Arizona (February 12, 1920)
New Mexico (February 21, 1920)
Oklahoma (February 28, 1920)
West Virginia (March 10, 1920, confirmed on September 21, 1920)
Washington (March 22, 1920)
Tennessee (August 18, 1920) Connecticut (September 14, 1920, reaffirmed on September 21, 1920)
Vermont (February 8, 1921)
Delaware (March 6, 1923, after being rejected on June 2, 1920)
Maryland (March 29, 1941 after being rejected on February 24, 1920; not certified until February 25, 1958)
Virginia (February 21, 1952, after being rejected on February 12, 1920)
Alabama (September 8, 1953, after being rejected on September 22, 1919)
Florida (May 13, 1969)[19]
South Carolina (July 1, 1969, after being rejected on January 28, 1920; not certified until August 22, 1973)
Georgia (February 20, 1970, after being rejected on July 24, 1919)
Louisiana (June 11, 1970, after being rejected on July 1, 1920)
North Carolina (May 6, 1971)
Mississippi (March 22, 1984, after being rejected on March 29, 1920) The 19th Amendment
Full transcript