Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development

There are eight stages of Erikson's Psychosocial Development

Haley Donovan

on 31 October 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Erikson's Stages of Psychosocial Development

Erikson's psychosocial theory emphasizes the emergence of the self, the search for identity, the individual's relationships with others, and the role of culture throughout life. Erikson's Psychosocial Development Stage 1: Basic Trust vs. Basic Mistrust Stage 8: Ego Integrity vs. Despair - Birth to 12-18 months
- Important Event: Feeding
- Infant must form a loving, trusting relationship with the caregiver or develop a sense of mistrust - 6 to 12 years
- Important Event: School
- Child must deal with demands to learn new skills or risk a sense of inferiority, failure, and incompetence Stage 4: Industry vs. Inferiority - Young adulthood
- Important Event: Love relationships
- Young adult must develop intimate relationships or suffer feelings of isolation Stage 6: Intimacy vs. Isolation - Middle adulthood
- Important Event: Parenting/Mentoring
- Adult must find some way to satisfy and support the next generation Stage 7: Generativity vs. Stagnation - Late adulthood
- Important Event: Reflection on and acceptance of one's life
- Sense of acceptance of oneself and a sense of fulfillment - 18 months to 3 years
- Important Event: Toilet training
- Child's energies are directed toward the development of physical skills, including walking, grasping, controlling the sphincter.
- Child learns control but may develop shame and doubt if not handled well
- Parents must find a line between being protective and being overprotective Stage 2: Autonomy vs. Shame/Doubt - 3 to 6 years
- Important Event: Independence
- Child continues to become more assertive and to take more initiative but may be too forceful, which can lead to feelings of guilt Stage 3: Initiative vs. Guilt Stage 5: Identity vs Role Confusion -Adolescence
-Important Event: peer relationships
-The teenager must achieve identity in occupation, gender roles, politics, and religion In this first scene of The Lion King, Simba is learning to develop a trusting relationship with his parents and the baboon, Rafiki. In this scene in The Lion King, Mufasa is teaching Simba new skills. In this scene from The Lion King, Simba is forming important peer relationships. In this scene from The Lion King, Simba is forming a love relationship with Nala. In this scene from The Lion King, Mufasa takes on his
role as Simba's father. In this scene from The Lion King, Rafiki and Simba reflect on life. In this scene from The Lion King, Simba takes initiative to make his own decision, but may feel a sense of guilt after putting himself and his friends in danger. In this scene from The Lion King, Simba and Nala's mothers let their children develop on their own, while still under some supervision Watching Simba grow up in The Lion King is a great example of Erikson's psychosocial development and the circle of life.
Full transcript