Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.



No description

daryoush taee

on 10 October 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Hajj

The Hajj Journey
General Information
Hajj means Pilgrimage
Every Muslim is required to perform Hajj at least once in their lifetime
The Kaaba is located in Mecca, a city in Saudi Arabia
Hajj takes place from the 8th of Du al-hijjah to the 12th
Founded in 622 CE
Islam is the religion our pilgrimage centers around
Islam means "submission to god"
Those who practice under Islamic teachings are called Muslims.
Prior to Hajj
Weeks prior to Hajj, muslims participating in the event travel to Saudia Arabia or Jeddah which are the largest ports near Mecca through different means of transportation. People participating in the event must be physically, mentally, spiritually, and financially ready.
Day 1
The muslims participating travel from Mecca to Mina, which is the smallest village in the Easy. There, they pray and read the Qur'an as they sleep in tents that night.
Day 2
After they leave Mine, travelers make in the the Plain of Arafact known as the "Day of Arafact" as they ask for forgiveness at Mount of Mercy.
There are 12 months in the Islamic Calendar and 354 total days in a year
The months are:
1. Muharram
2. Safar
3. Rabi' al-Awwal
4. Rabi' ath-Thaniy
5. Jumada-I-Ula
6. Jumada-I-Akhirah
7. Rajab
8. Sha'ban
9. Ramadan
10. Shawwal
11. Dhu-l-Qa'dah
12. Dhu-I-Hijjah
According to Muslims, the Kaaba was built by Prophet Abraham. The same Abraham that relayed the 10 Commandments from God in the Jewish and Christian Bibles.

The Kaaba and Masjid-Al-Haram; the Masjid that holds the Kaaba are considered the most sacred and important locations for Muslims. So much so that all of the Muslims daily prayers are prayed towards the direction of the Kaaba.
The Islamic faith holds several doctrines which consist of
Belief in one God (Allah)
Belief in the prophets
Belief in the revelations of Allah
Belief in judgement day and after.
Five Pillars of the Islamic Faith

Testimony of Faith (Shahada)
Prayer (salat)
Giving charity (zakat)
Fasting (sawn)
Pilgrimage (hajj)
fun fact: The moon was split in half and put back together to show miracles.
At sunset, they travel to the plain called Muzdalifah and spend the night praying ans collecting pebbles for the following day.
Day 3
Travelers go back to Mina, where they through the pebbles at pillars which represent Satin's temptation. The story is recalled of when Satin tried to dissuade prophet Abraham from obeying God's command of sacrificing his son.
After, the travelers go and kill and animal which they later give the meat to a poor family.
Day 4
As they return to Mecca and go around the Ka'aba 7 times in remembered of what prophet Abraham and his son built.
They drink from the ancient spring called Zamzam
In remembrance of prophet Abraham's wife, Hajar, travelers walk back and forth between two small hills in Ka'aba.
Day 5
After Hajj has ended, muslims visit the near by city of Madinah which used to be refuge to many Muslims when they were being prosecuted by the Meccan tribes. they also go and visit where Muhammad is buried at the Prophet's Mosque.
In order for any pilgrim to be able to take entry into Mecca or any of the holy sites in or in proximity to Mecca, one must attain a holy state that is referred to as “Ihram”. To be in Ihram is to establish a close relationship with the presence of God and in the face of god, all people are equal. To achieve Ihram, a pilgrim has to adjust in attire, actions, and mentality in dedication to god. Men and women go into Ihram differently.

All men must wear sandals and white garments. A sheet of white garment is strapped around the waist and another draped over the left shoulder. This is what especially signifies equality among gods followers.

Ihram for men
Women are allowed to wear what they normally wear when in public which is generally wearing a cloak that shrouds the body and around the head and neck covering the face.

Ihram for Women
Ihram Restrictions
When in Ihram one must refrain from activities that include smoking, drinking and even activities along with acts of cursing, flirting, covering ones face(which is why wearing cloth that conceals the face is forbidden) or any act of violence to any living thing. Most importantly when composing to Ihram, one must profess his intentions to venture on a hajj to god in sincerity.

In order to prove his Prophethood to the Quraysh (The tribe of his time that had always opposed him. The same one he was born into) Prophet Muhammad had the moon split in half on request.
12 Imams
(1) Ali
(2) Al-Hasan
(3) Al-Hussain
(4) Zain Al-Abideen
(5) Muhammad Al-Baqar
(6) Jaffar Sadiq
(7) Moosa Kazim
(8) Ali Al-Ridah
(9) Al-Taqi
(10) Al-Naqi
(11) Hassan Askari
(12) Al-Mahdi
Full transcript