Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Copy of The Philippine Presidents and their contributions to society.

Requirement/Project in Philippine History

Glenn Teh

on 15 August 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Copy of The Philippine Presidents and their contributions to society.

The Philippine Presidents
and their contributions to our history
Aguinaldo, Emilio
The Timeline
1898 - 1901
- A military officer and politician
- 1st President of the Philippines
- Joined the Katipunan movement and later help those who served as a katipunero
Quezon, Manuel L.
1935 - 1944
- Also known as the "Father of the Philippine Republic", "Father of the Philippine National Language" and "Father of the Philippine Independence"
- 2nd President of the Philippines
- Signed many laws like the minimum wage law and the rights for women to vote
- Signed Commonwealth Act No. 502, which created a city just outside Manila and was named after him
Laurel, Jose P.
1943 - 1945
- Used to be a Associate Justice of the Supreme Court
- 3rd President of the Philippines
- Instituted the Filipino First Policy, which states that Japanese forces be withdrawn from Malacañang
- After the first air raid, the Japanese forced him to declare war against the American and British forces. The only condition was that no Filipino will be drafted.
Osmeña, Sergio Sr.
1944 - 1946
- Vice President of Manuel L. Quezon
- 4th President of the Philippines
- After WW2, he restored the Commonwealth government and continued to fight for the Philippine Independence
- Issued Executive Order 15-W, which sought to reorganize and consilidate the Executive Goverments of the Commonwealth government
Roxas, Manuel
1946 - 1948
- Ratified the Bell Trade Act and signed the 1947 Military Bases Agreement.
- 5th President of the Philippines
- Changed the Commonwealth Government into the Republic of the Philippines, become the 1st President of the Republic of the Philippines
- Founder of Nacionalista Party. He was the first visayan to become the President of the Philippines
Quirino, Elpidio
1948 - 1953
- Helped the country economically speaking by postwar reconstructions, general economic gains and the like
- 6th President of the Philippines
- Considered as one of the best presidents the Philippines has ever had
Magsaysay, Ramon
1953 - 1957
- Led the foundation of the Southeast Asia Treaty Organization or the Manila Pact of 1954. The organization or pact is tasked to defeat Marxist-Communist Movements in SEA, SA and South Western Pacific.
- 7th President of the Philippines
- Active and supportive in the fight against communism
Garcia, Carlos P.
1957 - 1961
- Acted on the Bohlen-Serrano Agreement. The agreement states that the lease of the US bases in the Philippines goes down to 25 years instead of the agreed 99 years.
- 8th President of the Philippines
- Also exercised the Filipino First Policy by favoring more the Filipino businessmen rather than the foreign ones.
Macapagal, Diosdado
1961 - 1965
- Able to eradicate tenancy in the Philippines
- 9th President of the Philippines
- Was also able to pass the Agricultural Land Reform Code of 1963
- Also, he changed the date of independence from July 4 to June 12.
Marcos, Ferdinand
1965 - 1985
- Filipino Dictator
- 10th President of the Philippines
- He wanted immediate construction of roads, bridges and public works that were beneficial for the Filipinos including a generator with a capacity of one million kilowatts and water services to eight regions and thirty-eight localities.
- Infamous for his Martial Law, which he declared on September 22, 1972 under Proclamation No. 1081, which he signed on the day before.
Aquino, Corazon C.
1986 - 1992
- First Female President of the Philippines
- 11th President of the Philippines
- Reconstructed and helped the Philippines to get back on its feet after the dictatorship of Marcos
- Made the 1987 Constitution, which is the same constitution that we are using today
Ramos, Fidel V.
1992 - 1998
- Developed the country into an industrious one and made the "Tiger Club Economy in Asia"
- 12th President of the Philippines
- Created the Philippines 2000 Five-Point Program
Peace and Stability
Economic Growth and Sustainable Development
Energy and Power Generation
Environmental Protection
Streamlined Bureaucracy
Estrada, Joseph
1998 - 2001
- He had a strong economic team that helped improved the performance of the old administration
- 13th President of the Philippines
- Declared an all-out-war against the MILF
- Resigned due to People Power 2 or EDSA II Revolution
- Resigned and exiled out of the country due to People Power 1 or EDSA I Revolution
Arroyo, Gloria Macapagal
2001 - 2010
- Became President after Erap Estrada
- 14th President of the Philippines
- Implemented the E-VAT or Extended Value Added Tax
- Trialed for Corruption but was not found guilty
Aquino, Benigno III
2010 - Present
- Current President of the Philippines
- 15th President of the Philippines
- Approved the shift of the from the usual 10 years of education to K-12
- Son of Corazon Aquino
Group Members
Gabriel Tamondong
Paolo Romero
Levi Arao
Paolo Altejos
Jonas Lacson
Patrick Mercado
Full transcript