Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Nativity Ukrainian Catholic Parish

No description

Mr. May

on 11 May 2015

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Nativity Ukrainian Catholic Parish

Background Information for Our Field Trip to
The Nativity of the Mother of God
Ukrainian Catholic Parish

There are 22 churches that make up the Catholic Church
These 22 churches can be grouped into 6 different
liturgical rites

The word "liturgy" means public prayer. The Mass, for example, is a liturgy.

The word "rite" comes from the word ritual and it refers to the particular rituals, cultures, and laws of a community.
These 6 different liturgical rites (or styles of prayer and worship) developed in different areas over the first few hundred years of the church.
The Chaldean Rite developed in ancient Iraq.
The Alexandrian Rite developed in ancient Egypt.
The Antiochine Rite developed in ancient Syria.
The Armenian Rite developed in ancient Armenia.

The Latin or Western Rite (ritual) developed in ancient Rome during the first few centuries of the Church.
The Byzantine Rite developed in ancient Constantinople, and was used in Greece and Eastern Europe. This was the Liturgy of the Eastern Roman (Byzantine) Empire, and it has changed very little over the last 1000 years.
In Byzantine worship, the Liturgy of St. John Chrysostom is used. This liturgy was written in the year A.D. 385.
These churches are considered to be autonomous or"sui juris" (according to their own rights) churches. They are self-governing churches that are in communion with one another.
During the middle ages (A.D. 800--1200), the structure of the Western Rite was influenced by the Germanic and Norman conquests of Italy and Western Europe. During the Renaissance, the form of the Mass became uniform and fixed in the West. The Tridentine Mass was used in the west from 1570--1970. The Tridentine Mass (also called the Latin Mass) is the form of the Mass that your parents or grandparents would have been familiar with.
The Second Vatican Council called for a revision of the Tridentine Mass used in the Western Rite. Pope Paul VI authorized a new version of the Mass that has been used in the West since 1970. This new Mass is called The Mass of Paul VI, and this is the form of the Mass that we use at O'Hara and in the other Western Rite Churches in Oregon.
These rites developed over the early centuries of the Church, but they have not changed much in the last 1400 years.
The Latin West
The Greek East
The Byzantine liturgical rite is used in 13 different Catholic Churches located in Greece and Eastern Europe.
The Church began in Jerusalem, but moved to other parts of the world quickly. Different liturgical rites developed in different regions of the ancient world.
All Liturgies share the same basic structure and are based on the same theology; the differences are matters of style only. All Liturgies are divided into the Liturgy of the Word and the Liturgy of the Eucharist.
What are the key features of a Byzantine Liturgy?
1) The main church service is called the Divine Liturgy.
2) All of the prayers are sung during the Divine Liturgy.
3) Icons are venerated during the Divine Liturgy.
4) Leavened bread is used for Communion.
5) The priest and people all pray in the same direction, facing East. The priest will sometimes face the people to bless them or delivery a homily, but usually the priest does not face the congregation during the Divine Liturgy.
1 western rite
5 eastern rites
Four of the five Eastern Rites of the Church developed outside Europe:
Full transcript