Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Humanities Venn Diagram

A venn diagram comparing four different religions in India: Islam, Buddhism, Sikhism, and Hinduism.

Gabriela S. Marpozan

on 12 January 2011

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Humanities Venn Diagram

Buddhism Hinduism Islam Sikhism All three are monotheistic religions Just Buddhism Just Hindusim Buddhism and Hinduism Just Islam Buddhism and Islam Just Sikhism Sikhism and Hinduism Sikhism ans Islam Hinduism and Islam Sikhism, Hinduism, and Islam Buddhism, Hinduism, and Islam Buddhists don't believe in any specific god, but there are many other spritual beings
There are Four Noble Truths, which explain life and suffering
a. Life is filled with suffering and sorrow
b. the cause of all suffering is people's selfish desire for temporary pleasures of the world
c. The way to end all desires is by ending selfishness
d. The way to overcome such desires and attain enlightment is to follow the Eightfold Path, which is called the Middle way between desired and self-denial.
The founder of Buddha is Siddhartha Goutama, who was the son of a ruler. Goutama set off to find enlightment, after a guarded life.
It is more spiritual than religous, it is a state of mind and how one should act and feel, not that much who one should believe in, but what they believe (what is right and wrong) A way to connect with the higher powers in these two religions (different spiritual beings for Buddhism, and Brahman in Hinduism) is by meditating.
The goal of these two religions is to achieve the highest state of being (Moksha in Hinduism, and Nirvana in Buddhism), where one has a high sense of understanding and knowledge.
The three religions (including Sikhism) believe in Karma, that the you life is affected by the actions in your past lives. Karma also determines what is bad and evil, and why. If bad things are happening in this life, that means one has done something unworthy, or "wrong". A way to connect with the higher powers in these two religions (Allah for Islam and Waheguru - one of the many names "god" has in Sikhism) is by saying daily prayers. In this religion, the followers must abide to a few rules or "truths" (the five pillars):
a. Salah - five daily prayers
b. Sawm - fasting during Ramadan
c. Zakat - giving to the less fortunate
d. Hajj - pilgrimage to Mecca
Muslims must live by the teachings of the Qur'an, the sacred books of Muslims
Muslims believ that Allaqh (god) creates possibility, but when human follows though, it becomes their responsibility.
Allah decides what is good and what is evil
There are two main holidays celebrated :
a. Eid Al Fitar - long fasting during the months of Ramadan
b. Eid Ul Udha - holiday honoring the sacrifice Abraham gave to god
Mecca (one of the three most holy places in this religion) is the birthplace of the faith, Mohammad's hometown and where the Qu'ran was first sent down to him
The symbol of Islam is most widely known as the cresent moon and star The goal of every Sikh is to build a close, loving relationship with God
In this religion, the followers must abide to a few rules or truths (the code of conduct)
a. Must not cut hair
b. Should not eat meat
c. Must not use tobbacco, drugs, or intoxicants.
e. must not indulge in adultry They have four basic "rules" one must follow The individual "rules" are presented in the appropiate "boxes".
Hindus belive in Brahma, their universal soul, who takes on different forms.
4 ways to achieve Moksha
a. Path of knowledge (knowlegde of relation between soul and god)
b. Path of meditation (you concente to find you real self within you and reach Moksha)
c. Path of devotion (you choose a god and wroship all your life)
d. The path of good works (do all your duties correctly throughout your life)
The Ganges is the most sacred river, it is worshipped as a goddess (Ganga, the only living goddess).
There are seven ancient holly towns (Ayohya, Haridaar, Varanasi), these are places of pilgramage.
The four holy dhamas (places) correspond to the four points of the compass There are ten gurus in this relgion. These are the Gurus that founded this religions all together, starting with Guru Nanak.
The five "k"s are articles of faith that Sikhs wear all the time. The five "k"s are:
1. kesa (uncut hair)
2. Kangah (comb)
3. Kacha (short pants)
4. Kara (metal bracelet)
5. Kirpan (a dagger) All four religions (including Sikhism) believe in some kind of reincarnation.
In places of worship, the paintings or statues of gods and spiritual beings are not aloud, for fear of idol worship (this also applies to Sikhism) Both religions have set times to pray, and a special number of times Important Symbols:
Circle with dot in the center: the merging of male and female forces
Cow: the highest and holiest stages of reincarnation
Om: sankrit letters, the mother of all mantras
Wheel: mandala
Swastika: the symbol of good luck
Lotus: purity
The universe is seperate from god and is created by him After death, many Sikhs and Hindus cremate the bodies, and then immerse the corpses remains (dump the ashes in a body of water) Buddhist monks "observe a strict code of conduct" also known as the vinya. This states that a monk should only eat food that is offered to him, and he should recieve this without showing like or dislike Guru Nanak Ganga, the Ganges River Goddess Siddhartha Gautama Siddhartha Gautama
Full transcript