Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


How and why did Canada become a nation?

No description

taryn thomsen

on 11 March 2015

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of How and why did Canada become a nation?

How and why did Canada become a nation?
-Idea of all the colonies
-Idea of confederation, The Charlottetown conference, Quebec conference
-London Conference
-Canada becomes a dominion
-Rupert's Land+expansion, Manitoba added
-British Colombia added
-Prince Edward Island added
-Yukon added
-Alberta and Saskatchewan added
-Newfound land and Labrador added
-Canadian flag created
-Nunavut added

Timeline of Canada becoming a nation
In the 1860s the British colonies were facing many different kinds of problems. One solution for all of these was for the colonies to come together to form one country.

Since America had fought Britain to gain its independence the relationship between British North America and the United States had never been stable. The relationship became even worse when Britain supported the South in the American Civil War. The North won the war and was angry at Britain for helping the South.

Britain didn't want to have to pay for the cost of defending its colonies. It decided to encourage the colonies to join together, because the United States would be less likely to attack Canada if it were a self-governing country rather than separate colonies of Britain. The fear of the United States helped to strengthen the call for Confederation.
1860- Idea of all the colonies
In the fall of 1864, the political leaders of British North America attended meetings in Charlottetown and Québec during which they laid out the fundamental principles that led to the creation of the new country of Canada

The Charlottetown Conference took place on September 1-9, 1864, on the first day Charlottetown convinced the others to consider a confederation of all British North America. The 23 delegates spent the next days focused on government structure, division of power, and financial relations. At the end of the Charlottetown Conference, representatives had agreed that the union should be pursued and decided to reconvene in a few weeks.

This second meeting, the Québec Conference (October 10-27), was attended by 33 delegates representing the original participating provinces plus two delegates from Newfoundland. The representatives expanded on the Charlottetown discussions, forming their conclusions into a series of resolutions known as The Québec Resolution.
1864- Idea of confederation, Charlottetown conference, Quebec conference
The London Conference took place from December 1866 to March 1867 at the Westminster Palace Hotel. The third and final conference was the smallest of the three, with only 16 delegates from New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and the Province of Canada. During the conference, the delegates reviewed the Quebec Resolutions and created a document that would become the basis of the British North America Act
1866- London Conference
1867- Canada becomes a dominion
On July 1 1867, at noon, New Brunswick, Nova Scotia, and the Province of Canada were proclaimed the Dominion of Canada, with John A. Macdonald its first prime minister.

Now, the area of Upper Canada was called Ontario and Lower Canada was called Quebec.
1870- Rupert's Land+expansion, Manitoba are added
All the territories to the North and West provinces of Quebec and Ontario were known as Rupert's Land

Soon after Confederation the new Canadian government began negotiating with the Hudson's Bay Company to add Rupert's Land to its territory.

An agreement was reached on November 19, 1869 and the land was officially transferred on June 23, 1870.

On May 12, 1870 the Canadian Parliament passed the Manitoba Act creating Canada's fifth province. Its name, Manitoba, was an Assiniboine word meaning "water of the prairie" because of all the lakes and rivers in the area. It included only a small square of land - about 35000 sq. km . - around the Red River Valley and Portage La Prairie. The rest of Rupert's Land became the Northwest Territories.
1871- British Columbia is added
British Columbia joined Confederation on July 20, 1871, becoming Canada's sixth province in the wake of a gold rush and on the promise of a transcontinental railway link.
1873- Prince Edward Island is added
Prince Edward Island joined Confederation basically as a way out of its financial problems. It had first rejected the idea in 1867, even though it had hosted the Charlottetown Conference in 1864 where Confederation was first proposed.
1898- Yukon is added
On June 13 1898, the Yukon territory joined the confederation as the government in Ottawa passed the Yukon territory Act. It constituted Yukon as a separate and distinct from the North-West Territories with Dawson City becoming the territorial Capital city.
1905- Alberta and Saskatchewan are added
When Saskatchewan and Alberta were created in 1905, Saskatchewan became Canada's third largest province, Manitoba remained the fourth largest, and Alberta became the fifth largest. Winnipeg was already the third largest city in Canada and would remain so for nearly half a century.
1949- Newfoundland and Labrador are added
A former colony and dominion of the United Kingdom, Newfoundland and Labrador became the tenth province to enter the Canadian Confederation on March 31, 1949, as Newfoundland
1965- Canadian flag is created
The great Canadian flag debate took place in 1963 and 1964 when a new design for the national flag of Canada was chosen

Although the flag debate had been going on for a long time prior, it officially began on June 15, 1964 when prime minister Lester B. Pearson proposed his plans for a new flag in the House of Commons

The flag was introduced on February 15, 1965
1999- Nunavut is added
April 1, 1999, Nunavut separated from the Northwest Territories to become the newest Canadian territory. The creation of Nunavut was the outcome of the largest aboriginal land claims agreement between the Canadian government, and the native Inuit people.
Breaking down Canada
Key words
What it's about
New source of energy for Canada
Turning natural gas into liquid form (liquid natural gas)
Sell it to other countries
150 years of natural gas left in BC
Safer to transport due to the form of the gas, unlike oil, if it spills it will not sit in the ocean for a long period of time
How it connects
As humans we need energy to survive
Oil and electricity are very expensive, we may run out of it
Creates job opportunities in BC
Overall this could help not only Canadians but other countries with their growing needs for energy
Thank you!
By: Taryn Thomsen
Self -Government-
is a system in which the citizens of a country (or smaller political unit, such as a state) rule themselves and control their own affairs.

a country or area under the full or partial political control of another country, typically a distant one, and occupied by settlers from that country.

an organization that consists of a number of parties or groups united in an alliance or league.

a person sent or authorized to represent others, in particular an elected representative sent to a conference

(especially of a railroad line) crossing a continent
Full transcript