Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The Polynesian Islands

No description

Desiree Sebastian

on 29 April 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The Polynesian Islands

Polynesian Islands
The Polynesian islands are over 1,000 islands spread all over the central and southern pacific ocean and borders islands and countries/states. They share many similar traits including language, culture, and beliefs. The term "Polynesia" was first used in 1756 by French writer Charles de Brosses, and originally applied to all the islands of the Pacific.

List of Islands
The Cook Islands
Easter Island
Easter Island is a Polynesian island in the southeastern Pacific Ocean. This island is most famous for its stone statues or "moai" as depicted in the picture below. About 887 stone statues are on the island. These statues are mysterious to scientists because they were made in the first millenium, weigh more than 10 tons, and are very tall. These statues are deemed impossible to make without modern technological advancements.
Kingdom of Tonga, is a Polynesian sovereign state and archipelago comprising 176 islands with a surface area of about 750 square kilometers (290 sq mi) scattered over 700,000 square kilometers (270,000 sq mi) of the southern Pacific Ocean, of which 52 are inhabited by its 103,000 people.Tonga stretches over about 800 kilometers (500 mi) in a north-south line about a third of the distance from New Zealand to Hawaii. It is surrounded by Fiji and Wallis and Futuna (France) to the northwest, Samoa to the northeast, Niue to the east, Kermadec (part of New Zealand) to the southwest, and New Caledonia (France) and Vanuatu to the west.
The Polynesian Islands
Cook Island
Easter Island
New Zealand
Tahiti is the largest island in the group of French Polynesia. It is located in the archipelago in the southern Pacific Ocean. It is the economic, cultural and political centre of French Polynesia. It is located on the Windward Island group Of French Polynesia.
Tahiti was formerly known as Otaheite. Tahiti's Captial is
The island was proclaimed a colony of France in 1880. Although it wasn't until 1946 that the native Tahitians were legally authorized to be French citizens. French is the only official language although the Tahitian language (Reo Maohi) is widely spoken.
The island was formed from volcanic activity and has mountains with surrounding coral reefs. Tahiti is famous for white sand beaches. The island's beaches are very clear and clean just by looking at it! Yet, the sand comes in all various colors from pink to black.
The Cook Islands were first inhabited by by Polynesian people who came from Tahiti in the 6th century. The first written record of contact with the islands came with the sighting of Pukapuka by a Spanish sailor Avaro de Mendana de Neira in 1595 who called it San Bernado (Saint Bernard).
New Zealand
Tahiti has two large resorts offering over water bungalows. Some tourists stay in water bungalows. These are resorts tourists stay and enjoy. Usually these were used for honeymoon's. Now, some people in Tahiti live near the coast or in their capital Pape'ete.
New Zealand has a fascinating history, reflecting on a unique mix of Māori and European culture.
Māori were the first to arrive in New Zealand, journeying in canoes from Hawaiki about 1,000 years ago. A Dutchman, Abel Tasman, was the first European to sight the country but it was the British who made New Zealand part of their empire.
In 1840, the Treaty of Waitangi was signed, an agreement between the British Crown and Maori. It established British law in New Zealand and is considered New Zealand’s founding document and an important part of the country's history.

Samoa, officially the Independent State of Samoa, formerly known as Western Samoa, is a country encompassing the western part of the Samoan Islands in the South Pacific Ocean. It became independent from New Zealand in 1962. The capital
of samoa is Apia. Apia is the capital and the largest city of Samoa. The city is located on the central north coast of Upolu, Samoa's second largest island.The official languages are English and Samoan
New Zealand also known as Aotearoa is an island country in the southwestern Pacific Ocean. The country geographically comprises two main landmasses, the North Island, or Te Ika'a'Māui, and the South Island, or Te Waipounamu. New Zealand is situated some 900 miles east of Australia across the Tasman Sea and roughly 600 miles south of the Pacific island areas of New Caledonia, Fiji, and Tonga. Since the island appeared to be isolated, it was one of the last lands to be settled by humans. During its long isolation, New Zealand developed a distinctive biodiversity of animal, fungal and plant life; most notable are the large number of unique bird species. The country's varied topography and its sharp mountain peaks owe much to the tectonic uplift of land and volcanic eruptions.
Full transcript