Loading presentation...
Prezi is an interactive zooming presentation

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM

Copy

Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.

DeleteCancel

Make your likes visible on Facebook?

Connect your Facebook account to Prezi and let your likes appear on your timeline.
You can change this under Settings & Account at any time.

No, thanks

Career Lifeline

Timeline of Career Development and Future Life/Career Goals
by

Samantha M

on 4 June 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Career Lifeline

Career Lifeline
(birth-present) Elementary/Middle School: I was responsible for making my bed, taking out the trash, and cleaning my dishes. I learned that you have to do these things on your own or you may become a hoarder later in life. I began babysitting at age 15. I babysat many children on a regular basis throughout high school in addition to working other jobs. I learned how to discipline children and became more aware of children's development. This job gave me chances to be creative. I eventually became a nanny when I moved to Orlando for college. High School: I was responsible for doing my laundry, help cook/clean up after dinner, cleaning my room/bathroom, taking care of pets, and washing my car. I was also responsible for paying half of my car payments each month. Learned how to budget and became more independent.
During my junior year of high school I worked at a movie theater. I was a cashier, cook, and also responsible for cleaning theaters. I learned customer service and sales skills. I quit this job and left to work at a photography company. I worked as a receptionist for a photography company as a senior in high school. I was responsible for setting up appointments, mailing out customer orders, and handling payments/refunds. I learned a great deal about the photography business and sales. This job helped me improve my time management, customer service, computer, and organization skills. When I moved to Orlando for college I worked at American Eagle. Worst job ever! I was responsible for handling money transactions, selling store credit cards, marketing hot items/deals, and assisting with floor set displays each season. I quit to become a part-time nanny after being miserable working there for 2 years. This job made me realize how much I dislike pushing people to buy something. For 2 years I worked as a part-time nanny for a family with 3 kids. I was responsible for picking them up from school and helping them with after school activities. I learned a lot about ADHD and ODD. My passion to work with children with mental illness began during this time. During my undergrad, I interned as a Peer Adviser at UCF's Psychology Academic Advising Office where I helped students to understand their degree program requirements. I provided guidance to create class schedules, advised students about internship/research opportunities, and trained/supervised new advisers. I quit shortly after getting an internship at a private practice. I also volunteered as a research assistant during my undergrad. I learned how to input and analyze data using SPSS and was also responsible for setting up participants. I quit after 2 semesters to pursue more interesting internship opportunities. I learned that research bores me. I got an internship working at a local private practice during my last year of undergrad. I was responsible for scheduling/checking in clients, handling payments, verifying insurance benefits/checking claims, scoring psychological tests, and transcribing court ordered evaluations, I also learned how to set up client charts. After my internship ended, I joined the private practice as the Assistant Office Manager. I was responsible for training interns, handling difficult clients, monitoring client accounts, and doing weekly deposits/inventory. I learned how to manage others and work with clients diagnosed with mental illness. I gained knowledge about how private practices operate and how insurance companies work with mental health providers. During this time, I took a year off after graduation to observe and learn from the providers counseling there. I worked closely with a clinical psychologist, mental health counselor, and clinical social worker who helped me realize the path I wanted to take for graduate school. I later quit to focus on my education. My first year at Rollins I interned at CFDFL Women's Residential Program. I learned a great deal about the bad that comes along with working for a poorly managed and funded agency. I was not given much responsibility during my time there and spent many days shadowing counselors and attending/co-facilitating group therapy sessions. I also learned the agency's paperwork and filing process. I currently intern at Planned Parenthood of Greater Orlando. I am responsible for helping support clients who are entering/leaving the facility to ensure that they are comfortable while protestors are active. I also volunteer at tabling events around the Orlando area to promote the services that PPGO offers. Future Life/Career Goals
(5-10 years from now) Become a registered intern.
Obtain my license to practice.
Become certified in Play Therapy.
Work with children/adolescents in a school or agency setting for a while before going into private practice.
Get married. Have children and stay at home for a few years (possibly work part-time).
Become certified in Crisis Counseling.
Open a private practice geared toward helping children and families.
Do supervision for registered interns.
At some point I'd like to work for a nonprofit organization doing crisis counseling.
Full transcript