Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.



No description

Nicky Dinh

on 26 September 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Aquarius

The Water-Carrier Aquarius (Beta)Aquarii sometimes called Sadalsuud, is a G0 spectral class star (yellow supergiant) named for the Arabic phrase meaning "luckiest of the lucky stars".It is the brightest star in Aquarius with an apparent magnitude of 2.91 also known as Scheat or Skat, is a blue-white A2 spectral class star of magnitude 3.27 (Delta)Aquarii is the Bayer designation for a double star in the equatorial constellation of Aquarius. It has the traditional name Situla, a Latin word meaning "bucket" or "water jar". This system is visible to the naked eye, but it is faint at an apparent magnitude of 5.03. (Kappa)Aquarii also known as Sadalmelik, is a G2 spectral class star (yellow supergiant) named in Arabic for the phrase "the lucky stars of the king".It is the second brightest star in Aquarius with a magnitude of 2.96 (Alpha)Aquarii (Gamma)Aquarii also called Sadachbia, is a blue-white A0 spectral class star of magnitude 3.84 (Epsilon)Aquarii also known as Albali, is a blue-white A1 spectral class star with an apparent magnitude of 3.77 (Lambda)Aquarii sometimes called Ancha, is a G8 spectral class star with an apparent magnitude of 4.16 Aquarius constellation is located in the southern hemisphere. Its name means “water-bearer” in Latin and its symbol is , which two waves with represents water. Aquarius lies in the region of the sky sometimes referred to as the Sea, because it contains a number of constellations with names related to water; Pisces (the fish), Eridanus (the river), and Cetus (the whale), among others. Like other zodiac constellations, Aquarius was catalogued by the Greek astronomer Ptolemy in the 2nd century. It is located in the fourth quadrant of the southern hemisphere (SQ4) and can be seen at latitudes between +65° and -90°. Constellations bordering Aquarius are Aquila, Capricornus, Cetus, Delphinus, Equuleus, Pegasus, Pisces, Piscis Austrinus, and Sculptor. Aquarius is depicted as a young man pouring water (or alternatively, nectar) from an amphora into the mouth of the Southern Fish, represented by the constellation Piscis Austrinus. Aquarius is usually associated with Ganymede, the son of King Tros, in Greek mythology. Ganymede was a beautiful Trojan youth who caught Zeus’ eye, which prompted the god to disguise himself as an eagle (represented by the constellation Aquila) and carry him off to Olympus to serve as cup-bearer to the gods. In a different story, the constellation represents Deucalion, son of Prometheus, who survived the great flood along with his wife Pyrrha.
Full transcript