Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Russian Political System

No description

Mariana Flores

on 30 October 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Russian Political System

The politics of Russia take place in a federal semi-president republic (Semi-presidentialism: is a system of government in which the president rule alongside a prime minister and Cabinet which are responsible to the legislature state). The power split between the President and the Prime Minister, but the President is the dominant figure, the legislature has two houses: THE STATE DUMA – the lower house- and the FEDERATION COUNCIL – the upper house- and the judicial power is administered by the Ministry of Justice.
Nobody and nothing will stop Russia in the road to strenthening democracy and ensuring human rights and freedom
- Vladimir Putin
Russian Goverment Structure
What about the collapse of the Soviet Union?
THE PRESIDENT: is the head of state and is elected by vote every six years, The president’s working residence is in the Moscow Kremlin. He determinates the basic issues of citizens of the Russian Federation, and the state decorations and grants pardons.

The Supreme Court is the highest court, It sits at cases of important interests, consisting a judge and a jury, There are 15 members in the supreme court and the presídium, that consists in 13 judges

Arbitration courts are cases dealing with issues like rights of ownership, contract changes and bank accounts.

The constitutional Court empowered to rule on whether or not laws or presidential decrees are constitutional.

The head of the government is the prime minister, that is appointed by the president and confirmed by STATE DUMA.
The government duties are split between a number of ministries that have federal services and federal agencies.
Since the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991, Russia has faced serious challenges in its efforts to forge a new political system. The conflict in September and October 1993 cause the Russian Constitution crisis and marked the first constitutional period. With a new Constitution and a new Parliament representing the parties, Russia's political structure show signs of stabilization, Although the struggle between executive and legislative branches was partly resolved, the two branches represent fundamental opposing vissions of Russia's future.
Wensday, October 28, 2014
Cultural Week
President of Russia
Vladimir Vladimirovich Putin
State Duma and the Federation Council
Vladimir Vladimirovich Putin was born October 7th, 1952 and he has been the President of Russia since May 2012. Putin Previously served as President from 2000 to 2008, and as Prime Minister of Russia since 2008 to 2012. For 16 years Putin was an officer in the KGB (Komitet gosudarstvennoy bezopasnosti, in English Committee for State Security), rising to the rank of Lieutenant Colonel before he retired to enter politics in Saint Petesburg. Putin won the 2000 presidental election and was reelected in 2004. Putin was ineligible to run for a third presidental term in 2008, but Dmitry Medvedev won appointing Putin as Prime Minister. In september 2011, Putin announced that he would seek a third non-consecutive term as President for the 2012 elections, he won in March 2012
THE STATE DUMA: is the lower house of the Russian Parliament, the 450 deputies are elected for terms of five years.
Deputies of the State Duma work full-time on their duties and they are not allowed to serve in local legislatures or hold government positions.
All bills, even those proposed by the Federation Council, must first be considered by the State Duma.

Federation Council is the upper house of the Federal Assembly of Russia, the council holds its sessions in the Main Cuilding on Bolshaya Dmitrovka Street in Moscow. Each of the 85 federal subjects of Russia – consisting of 22 republics, 46 oblasts, nine krais, three federal cities, four autonomous okrugs, and one autonomous oblast – sends two senators to the Council, for a total membership of 166 Councillors.

Russian Political System
Russian Political System
Thank you for your attention
have a nice day!
Full transcript