Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Open Ocean Biome

No description

Jackson Beck

on 5 October 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Open Ocean Biome

The The Open Ocean The open ocean is the area that includes all oceans and seas
We'll be covering the Epipelagic Zone, the Mesopelagic Zone, the Bathypelagic Zone, and the Benthic Zone The Epipelagic Zone The Epipelagic Zone is the area of the Ocean, from the surface to about 200 meters down that allows light through
Because light can get through, photosynthesizers are able to collect sunlight and convert it into food
The fish that live here are small second level consumers, or in the case of the whale shark, huge second level consumers
Another common species are sharks, who act as 3rd level consumers The Mesopelagic Zone is the area from 200 meters down to about 1000 meters deep
Though some light can penetrate this deep is is generally too low to allow photosynthesis, thus only 3rd or even 4th level consumers live this low
Swordfish, Wolf Eels, and certain species of Cuttlefish and Squids live here
In addition, certain species, such as the Chain Catshark are fluorescent (light-producing) The Mesopelagic Zone The Bathypelagic Zone includes the area between 1000 meters and 4000 meters
Because no sunlight can't reach this level, their can be no primary production
Included are Whales, large species of Squid and many types of shark such as the Frill shark
Carnivorous whales are the most common in this area of the Ocean and include Sperm and Orca whales
The lowest tiers here are Nektons, which feed on dead matter floating down from the higher levels of the Ocean only to be eaten by any of the above predators The Bathyalpelagic Zone The Benthic Zone is the deepest part of any body of water
These zones are any zone, Pelagic or otherwise that extends to the bottom of the Ocean (i.e. if the water only goes down 1500 meters the Bathypelagic Zone is the Benthic Zone
At the deepest Benthic Zones, it can reach over 10,000 meters deep into the Ocean
There is absolutley no light penetrating this deep and the only organisms able to live this deep have adapted to the incredible pressure The Benthic Zone The Autotrophic species of the Open Ocean are almost exclusively Phytoplankton living on the top levels of the Ocean
Many species of marine vegetation do exist in shallower waters, however. These are known as seaweed
A final technical Autotrophic species lives at the deepest point of the ocean and use Chemosynthesis as a means of food production Autotrophs 2nd level consumers are made up of small fish and cephalopods such as squid that feed on the phytoplankton
These organisms must be small in order to live off of such small organisms such as plankton
Species include Herring, Anchovies, Butterfish, and a vast majority of squid 1st Level Consumers The 3rd level of consumer are krill, which feed on the dead and decaying matter of fish and squid carcasses
Krill are able to live off of tiny sized matter, they themselves being small enough to live off of it. 2nd Level Consumers Whales and other large animals that live deep below the oceans surface, such as Giant Squid are the 4th level of consumers that feed almost exclusively on microscopic krill
They use filter feeding to absorb the organisms and then filter the water out with the krill eaten
These gentle giants are an anomaly, being able to feed on such small creatures and still thrive in the open ocean. 3rd Level Consumers
Full transcript