Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The Rock Cycle and Types of Rocks

No description

Myeongjun Kim

on 16 March 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The Rock Cycle and Types of Rocks

Rock Cycle
A rock cycle is the series of processes in which a rock forms, changes from one type to another, is destroyed, and forms again by geological processes. You are going to experience the Rock Cycle with this Presentation
Stage 1
We are starting from the Igneous Rock! Igneous rock is a rock that is located above and below the surface. It's caused by lava cooling on the Earth surface, such as volcanoes. But not all magma reach the surface, and magma cools and solidifies deep within the Earth's crust. There are two kinds of Igneous rocks, intrusive and extrusive igneous rocks. The famous rock from this is Obsidian
Stage 3
The Rock Cycle and Types of Rocks
Stage 4
Sedimentary Rocks are formed when sediments may be compacted or compressed and then cemented together to form a rock. Example is a sand stone
Stage 5
Because the sedimentary rocks had metamorphism, they became Metamorphic Rock. Metamorphic Rocks are the rocks that were once one form of rock but had changed to another under the influence of heat, pressure, or some other agent without passing through a liquid phase. Example is a marble.
Stage 2
Moving on to the next stage, weathering happened to the igneous rock! Weathering is process of breaking down rocks, soil, and minerals through contact with the atmosphere. Then, the rock turned into sand and became millions of different parts!
Now the little parts of the sediments made erosion! Erosion means it is a process by which wind, water, ice, or gravity transports soil. Then, the sediments start deposition. Deposition is the process in which material is laid down. Afterward, they are starting to stick each other so that it will make a compaction. Compaction is the chemical makeup of a rock, describes either the minerals or other materials in the rock. These processes make a rock called Sedimentary Rock.
Stage 6
The one that I didn't explain is Superposition. Superposition is a principle that states that younger rocks lie above older rocks if the layers have not been disturbed.
Full transcript