Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Erikson's Psychosocial Development Theory

No description

mira patel

on 31 October 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Erikson's Psychosocial Development Theory

Erikson's Psychosocial Development Theory
Vocabulary (cont.)
Intimacy: a state of excessive closeness that can be entered without causing discomfort
Identity Crisis: a time of intensive analysis and exploration of different ways of looking at yourself. The result of conflicting internal and external experiences, pressures, and expectations produce anxiety
Generativity: concern for people besides oneself and family that usually develops during the middle ages
Stagnation: failure to find a way to contribute to others
Ego Integrity: an acceptance of self, both successes and failure
Despair: to lose all and regret

Pros and Cons of Erikson's Theory
Psychosocial Development Stages
Stages 1 & 2
Stage 1: Trust vs. Mistrust
Newborns - Age 1
Throughout infancy, babies learn to trust or mistrust caregivers based on their actions towards them

Stage 2: Autonomy vs. Shame & Doubt
Ages 1-3
Toddlers start to claim their independence instead of having feelings of uncertainty (if the caregiver gives enough attention to the child)
Stages 3 & 4
Stage 3: Initiative vs. Guilt
Begins at age 3-6
Preschoolers learn to get involved in activities
Start to develop self-confidence and a sense of responsibility
If they do not develop these, they may start feeling anxious or worried

Stage 4: Industry vs. Inferiority
Ages 6-12
Elementary school-aged children develop a sense of pride and competence (industry)
When they do not develop these skills, they may feel unproductive and inadequate

Stages 5 & 6
Stage 5: Identity vs. Role Confusion
Ages 12-20
Start developing a sense of identity
Explore many roles and decide on who or what they want to be
Failure to do so results in identity crisis which could lead to withdrawal or role confusion

Stage 6: Intimacy vs. Isolation
Starts from early adulthood
Young adults form meaningful relationships which helps develop a sense of intimacy with others
Failure to do so being psychologically isolated

Stages 7 & 8
Stage 7: Generativity vs. Stagnation
Begins at middle adulthood
Have a challenge because they have to nurture the younger generation
If they fail, it may lead to self-indulgence and a sense of stagnation

Stage 8: Ego Integrity vs. Despair
Begins at late adulthood
Older adults reflect their past
Shows them their reflection of life and how well they had spent it
If not, the person experiences regret and deep dissatisfaction

Psychosocial stages: development that occurs throughout the lifespan
Intimacy: close familiarity
Isolation: being separated
Autonomy:the right condition of self-government
Shame: regret towards a situation or action
Doubt: feeling of uncertainty
Adolescence: period of puberty where a child develops into an adult
Inferiority: being lower in status than others
• Contributed to North American + European studies of psychosocial development
• Study encouraged on-going research

• Difficult to test scientifically
• Labels of stages are not entirely cross-culturally
Yoonsuh Lee

Tina Au

Mira Patel

Shiela Mae Madriaga
Full transcript