Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The Solar System

No description

Saintvarg OK

on 12 February 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The Solar System

The Solar System The Solar System's
interesting facts The solar system includes the Sun and all the objects that orbit around it due to its gravity. This includes things such as planets, comets, asteroids, meteoroids and moons.
The Solar System formed around 4.6 billion years ago.
There are eight planets in the Solar System. The four inner planets are Mercury, Venus, Earth and Mars while the four outer planets are Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus and Neptune.
The inner planets (also known as terrestrial planets) are smaller and made mostly of rock and metal. The outer planets (also known as gas giants) are much larger and made mostly of hydrogen, helium and other gases. The sun Our sun is a star. It is made of gases called hydrogen and helium.
It is always burning and is very hot. The outside of the sun is 11,000 degrees Fahrenheit.
The sun's surface is about 100 times as hot as the hottest day on earth! The Terrestrial Planets Terrestrial planets are Earth-like planets made up of rocks or metals with a hard surface — making them different from other planets that lack a solid surface.
Terrestrial planets also have a molten heavy metal core, few moons, and a variety of topological features like valleys, volcanoes and craters.
In our solar system, there are four terrestrial planets, which also happen to be the four closest to the sun: Mercury, Venus Earth and Mars.
During the creation of the solar system, there were likely more terrestrial planetoids, but they likely merged or were destroyed. The Jovian Planets Part 4 Part 3 Part 1 Part 2 Jovian planets are also known as gas giants. There are four Jovian planets: Jupiter, Saturn, Uranus, and Neptune. These four planets also comprise the outer planets. The term Jovian came from Jupiter, describing the other gas giants in our Solar System as Jupiter-like.
Despite common belief, gas giants are not composed entirely of gas. A rocky core exists somewhere within these balls of gas, but it is difficult if not impossible as of yet, to determine where this center is.
Because of the intense high temperatures in the middle of these planets, the rocky core of a gas giant is actually believed to be liquid heavy compounds, such as nickel. Thus, it is sometimes misleading when astronomers refer to the rocky core of these planets. The Jovian planets are larger than the other planets of the
Full transcript