Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The Mayflower compact II

No description

Jaclyn Gauthier

on 31 October 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The Mayflower compact II

By Jaclyn Gauthier & Courtney Zoller What is the Mayflower Compact? Who contributed to the Mayflower Compact? When and Where was the Mayflower Compact created? Why was the Mayflower Compact created? This impacts history and life today because it is the foundation of the Declaration of Independence and the U.S. Constitution. The Mayflower Compact was a written agreement created by the pilgrims on the Mayflower.

It stated that they were to work together to choose leaders, practice Christianity, have town meetings, make laws, and obey those laws.

It established the town of Plymouth as a direct democracy. The men aboard the Mayflower signed and created the Mayflower Compact.

No women were allowed to sign the Mayflower Compact because they had little to no rights back then.

The men who signed the Mayflower Compact include: John Carver, Edward Tilley, Degory Priest,
William Bradford, John Tilley, Thomas Williams,
Edward Winslow, Francis Cooke, Gilbert Winslow,
William Brewster, Thomas Rogers, Edmund Margeson,
Issac Allerton, Thomas Tinker, Peter Browne,
Myles Standish, John Rigdale, Richard Britteridge,
John Alden, Edward Fuller, George Soule,
Samuel Fuller, John Turner, Richard Clarke,
Christopher Martin, Francis Eaton, Richard Gardiner,
William Mullins, James Chilton, John Allerton,
William White, John Crackston, Thomas English,
Richard Warren, John Billington, Edward Dotey,
John Howland, Moses Fletcher, Edward Leister,
Stephen Hopkins, and John Goodman. The Mayflower Compact was created on November 11th in 1620.

It was written off the coast of Plymouth, Massachusetts.

It was created before they docked in Plymouth. The Mayflower Compact was created to establish a set of rules How did this impact history and our life today? The Mayflower Compact The Mayflower Compact was created to establish a set of rules for the pilgrims, those rules were called "laws."

The pilgrims decided to make these laws because they needed a democracy to be able to cooperate and to be organized. Bibliography Mayflower Compact. (2008, August 19). NC Mayflower Society. Retrieved October 28, 2012, from http://www.ncmayflower.org/mayflowercompact.htm

MayflowerHistory.com. (n.d.). MayflowerHistory.com. Retrieved October 28, 2012, from http://www.mayflowerhistory.com/PrimarySources/MayflowerCompact.php

Remy, R., Patrick, J., Saffell, D., & Clayton, G. (2012). Civics Economics and Geography. Colombus, OH: McGraw-Hil.

The Mayflower Compact. (n.d.). ushistory.org. Retrieved October 28, 2012, from http://www.ushistory.org/documents/mayf
Full transcript