Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


7 Regions of the United States

This is a brief introduction of the regions within the United States. Each region is outlined on the map. Also each region has a small paragraph describing it along with a picture. I followed the Ohio Academic Standards for High School Social Studies

Jackson Langenderfer

on 20 March 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of 7 Regions of the United States

What Are the 7 Regions in the United States? New England Region Mid-Atlantic Region Southern Region Southwest Region Pacific Coastal Region Rocky Mountain Region Midwest Region Introduction Video The United States is split into seven regions based on physical characteristics, cultures, politics and history of the states. The regions are split from east to west across the entire United States. These regions are numbered from one to seven and give an idea about the climate and conditions of the states. The Rocky Mountain Region is made up of the states that run through the Rocky Mountains. These states are to the north of the South-West region and West of the Mid-West region of the United States. The states included in the region are: Montana, Idaho, Colorado, Utah, Wyoming and Nevada. Geographically, these are both the Rocky Mountain region and the Inner-mountain region of the United States. The Midwest region is to the North of the Southern Region and is the fourth region of the United States.Geographically, the states in the Midwest are the Interior Plains and part of the Interior Highlands Regions. The states in the Midwest region include: Michigan, North and South Dakota, Iowa, Minnesota, Kansas, Nebraska, Ohio, Indiana, Illinois, Wisconsin, and Missouri. The South-West region of the United States is located directly west of the Southern Region. Geographically, it is part of the Atlantic Gulf Coastal Plain. The states in the South-West region include: Texas, Arizona, New Mexico, and Oklahoma. The Pacific Coastal Region is made up of the states that lie along the Pacific Ocean. Geographically, the Pacific Coastal Region is considered the Pacific Mountain System. The states in the Pacific Coastal Region include: California, Oregon, and Washington. The New England region is the easternmost part of the United States regions and is the first region that goes from east to west. The states in the New England region include: Maine, Rhode Island, Vermont, Connecticut, New Hampshire, and Massachusetts.Geographically, New England is part of the Atlantic-Gulf Coastal Plain, which stretches from the east to the Rio Grande. The Mid-Atlantic Region, otherwise known as the Middle Atlantic States, are the second region of the United States and are south and west of the New England states. The Mid-Atlantic states include: New York, New Jersey, and Pennsylvania. Geographically like the New England region states, the Mid-Atlantic region is also part of the Atlantic-Gulf Coastal Plains. The Southern Region makes up the third region of the United States. These states are to the south and west of the Mid-Atlantic Region. The states in the Southern Region include: Virginia, West Virginia, Kentucky, Delaware, Maryland, North and South Carolina, Tennessee, Arkansas, Louisiana, Florida, Georgia, Alabama, and Mississippi. Geographically, these states are part of the Appalachian Highlands. The End
Full transcript