Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


FIFA World Cup 2014

No description

Belinda Telford

on 13 February 2014

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of FIFA World Cup 2014

FIFA World Cup 2014
Australia's History....
Australia's first attempt to qualify for a FIFA World Cup was in 1965. In 1974 Australia had it's first World Cup appearance in West Germany, they didn't make it past the first round.
After 32 long years Australia would again qualify for the 2006 FIFA World Cup in Germany, Tim Cahill become the first player to score a goal for Australia in a World Cup game, which helped them qualify to the round of 16., Australia lost to Italy 1-0.
In 2010 Australia again made to the FIFA World Cup in South Africa, this time we didn't make it to the round of 16.
Qualifying for 2014...
Australia started their 2014 FIFA World Cup with a series of friendly games against United Arab Emirates 0-0, Germany 1-2 win, New Zealand 3-0 win, Serbia 0-0 and Wales 2-1 win. The next phase was to get through the FIFA World Cup Asian Qualifying Group B. Between June 2012 and June 2013 they played 8 games against Oman, Japan, Jordan and Iraq. The 1-0 victory over Iraq in the final qualifying game of Group B sealed the Socceroos path to Brazil. The 2014 FIFA World Cup starts in Brazil in June. The Socceroos have been placed in Group B, their first match will be against Chile, then the Netherlands and then the world's number one team Spain. Good Luck boys.
By Belinda Telford.

References :
Belinda's :
History of FIFA 1994-2014,The first FIFA World Cup,viewed 19 January 2014,http://www.fifa.com/classicfootball/history/fifa/first-fifa-world-cup.html
History of FIFA 1994-2014,Foundation,viewed 1 January 2014, http://www.fifa.com/classicfootball/fifa/foundation.html
Sooceroos 2013,Australia in the FIFA World Cup,viewed 19 January 2014,http://www.footballaustralia.com.au/socceroos/history
The Roar your sports Opinion 2014, Socceroos 2014 FIFA World Cup Qualifying,viewed 6 January 2014,http://www.theroar.com.au/football/socceroos-2014-world-cup-qualifying
Images courtesy of Google for commercial use.

Shahban's :
You Tube Videos;
World Cup Winners.
Best 100 Goals.
FIFA World Cup Trivia.http://football.sporting99.com/trivia-on-the-fifa-world-cup.html
History Of the FIFA World Cup :
What is the FIFA World Cup ?
The Federation International Football Association (FIFA) was founded in 1904 by France, Belgium, Denmark, Netherlands, Spain, Sweden and Switzerland. The first FIFA World Cup took place in Uruguay in July 1930, this began a new era in world football.
Today countries from all over the world competed to qualify for the FIFA World Cup and this year Brazil is the host country. Australia is one of the lucky 32 countries who have qualified to play, competition starts in June.

By Belinda Telford.
The Australian Socceroos...
History & How they qualified.
The FIFA world Cup is the largest single sport event in the world and is held every four years.The first world cup was played in 1930 and in June 2014 the latest edition of the world cup would be hosted by 5 times world champions Brazil.It is contested by qualifiers from the FIFA's 208 member associates.Currently 32 Teams take part in the world cup and in order to qualify for the world cup teams participate in a three year long qualification phase.In 1942 and 1946 the world cup editions were not played due to WWII.
By Shahban Shah

The last 19 editions of the world cup has been won by the following countires

Brazil won in 1958,1962,1966,1994 and 2002
Argentina won in 1978 and 1986
Italy won in 1934,1938,1982 and 2006
Germany won in 1954,1974 and in 1990
England won in 1996
France won in 1998
Spain won in 2010
By Shshban Shah
World Cup Winners :
FIFA World Cup Facts :
-Brazil is the only Country to have participated in every world cup
-The record number of World Cup career goals is 15 by Brazilian forward Ronaldo.
-The record number of appearances in world cup matches is 25, held by German footballer Lothar Matthaus.
-The fastest goal in the world was scored by Turkey’s Hasan Sukur, 11 seconds into the game against South Korea in the 2002 World Cup.
-Oliver Kahn is the only goalkeeper in the history of FIFA World to have won the Golden Ball trophy.
-India withdrew from the 1950 World Cup when they realized that according to FIFA regulations players had to wear football boots and would not be allowed to play barefoot.
-The record for most defeats suffered by a nation in World Cups is held by Mexico with 20 losses.
-Norman Whiteside was 17 when he played in the 1982 FIFA World Cup making him the youngest player to play in the world cup.
By Shahban ShAH

FIFA World Cup Facts :
-Of the 18 World cups apart from Europe and South America countries no other continent has won the world cup
-42-year-old Roger Milla in 1994 became the oldest goal scorer and the oldest player in World Cup history.
-The very first hat-trick in a World Cup match was scored by Bert Patenaude of United States in a match against Paraguay in the 1930 World Cup.
-In 1986 FIFA prohibited shirt swapping because they did not want players to ‘bare their chests’ on the field.
-Brazil is the country to have appeared for every finals tournament.
-The only two players to have scored in four consecutive finals tournaments in 1958, 1962, 1966 & 1970 are Pele of Brazil and Uwe Seeler of West Germany.
By Shahban Shah

Five times world champions Brazil will host the 2014 FIFA Word Cup which would see 32 nations playing in the 12 different cities. Australia managed to qualify for its fourth world cup through Asian Qualifiers.In the past Editions of the World Cup no other nations outside of Europe and South America has won it and again Brazil and Germany are the Favourites.
By Shahban Shah
Full transcript