Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Introduction to Islam: Meaning of Islam and its 5 Pillars

Dania Sajjad. Nazihah Zuraili. Summaya Malik. Tazeen Murad.

Tazz School

on 3 October 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Introduction to Islam: Meaning of Islam and its 5 Pillars

Introduction To Islam Meaning of Islam
and its 5 Pillars Dania Sajjad. Nazihah Zuraili.
Summaya Malik. Tazeen Murad.
YeSeul Shim. What is Islam? Islam stands on its Five Pillars. These beliefs and acts are the core of this religion, and it is considered obligatory for each Muslim to complete them. The Five Pillars of Islam How do you think Islam affects a Muslim's Daily Life? Islam is more than just a religion. Its a way of life. The Five Pillars of
Islam are: Shahada Salah Zakat Saum Hajj The first and the most important pillar of Islam is the Shahada, which is the confession of faith
It is also known as declaration of faith.
It expresses the two simple beliefs that make one a Muslim.
There is no god but Allah
The Prophet Muhammad is his Messenger
One’s life can be changed forever if he/she sincerely believes in these words.
The shahada is also known as “Kaleema”. (cc) image by rocketboom on Flickr (cc) image by quoimedia on Flickr • Giving charity to those who deserve it is compulsory for all the Muslims because it is the third pillar of Islam.
• It is very important because the Muslims believe they receive their wealth from Allah (SAW), so they should respond to this by giving alms to the poor.
• “Zakat” is an Arabic word which means purification as it purifies one’s heart from greed.
• The Muslims mostly distribute the zakat during the fasting month of Ramadan.
• One can give as much as he can afford, but the Qur'an states that one should give 2.5% of his yearly savings to the ones in need.
Benefits of Zakah to a Muslim:
• Draws the Muslims closer to their creator, Allah
• Purifies the Muslim
• Ibn Taimiah said, “the soul of one who gives zakat is blessed and so is his wealth”
Strengthens the love between the poor and the rich La ilaha illa Allah wa-Muhammad rasul Allah.
"I bear witness that there is no deity other than Allah(SWT) and that Muhammad(SAW) is his Messenger." Shahada
Hajj Did you know, the Saudi Arabian flag has the Shahada written across it? For those converting to Islam, they must recite the Shahada with full sincerity and a firm conviction in the faith.
It is the sole requirement when converting, as the Shahada symbolizes not only accepting Allah and his prophet, but also embracing all of Islam, the deen. Fasting
Muslim must abstain from food, drink, and sexual relations
However, they also should refrain from acts like lying, insulting others, backbiting, and using vulgar language.
Muslims are to make efforts to be pure during Ramadan. Exceptions to those who must fast are:
People who are mentally incapacitated
The elderly
The sick
Pregnant women and nursing mothers Dawn till dusk.
Sunnah: Suhoor, just before the Fajr prayer.
Break the fast with Iftar, at Maghreb.
Fasting allows Muslims to appreciate all that Allah has given them, and to better themselves--both physically and spiritually.
Hunger and thirst shows how less-fortunate suffer.
Abstinence from food and water helps them to practice self control, and purify both body and soul. •Daily prayers
•The second pillar of Islam.
•Spread throughout the day.
•Pray 5 times a day
-When the Muslims pray, they face the Ka’ba. Salah Timings Fajr: At dawn “And they have been commanded no more than this: to worship God, offering Him sincere devotion, being true in faith; to establish regular prayer; and give poor due”. (Holy Qur’an, 98:5) Zuhr: At noon Asr: In the afternoon Maghrib: At Sunset Isha: After Nightfall •“Indeed, I am Allah. There is nothing worthy of worship except Me, so worship Me and establish the Salah for My remembrance.” (Quran 20:14) •Should start praying at the age of seven

•The Friday zuhr prayer is the most sacred of all.

•Compulsory for all Muslims to perform ablution (wudu) before they pray.

•Muslims pray on a specific type of a rug that they call the “prayer rug” or “Sajjadah” The end of Ramadan is signified with Eid al-Fitr. im gonna be adding more.. Zakat ul-Fitr This is a type of a Zakat that is payed at the end of the fasting month of Ramadan before the Eid prayer.
It is required for all the Muslims to fulfill this duty unless they cannot afford to do so.
Zakat ul-Fitr should be given in a particular period of time unless one cannot make it up.
The time period starts from sunset on the last day of Ramadan, and until the beginning of the Eid prayer.
Zakat ul-Fitr enables the poor to celebrate the festival of Eid with the other Muslims. Annual pilgrimage to Makkah that Muslims make.
Only a once in a lifetime obligation.
From the 8th to 13th of Dhu’l Hijjah.
Muslims follow the same rituals that their Prophet Muhammad had done during his time. During Hajj, all barriers of language, race, and wealth disappear, and Muslims all become equal in their worship of Allah. The end of Hajj is signified with Eid Al-Adha. Muslims in Makkah and around the world celebrate on this day. Exceptions to those who must perform hajj are those physically or financially unable to perform it. A monotheistic religion
Islam is to worship Allah alone, and not attribute anyone or anything as an equal to Him.
Islam is much more than just a religion, or faith.
Encompasses all aspects of life.
The word "Islam" derive from the Arabic root word “Salam. Peace, purity, submission, and obedience.
Religiously, Islam is submission to God’s will, and obedience to His law. To recap,
Islam is the religion of Muslims. The word derives from the Arabic root, "Salam".
Islam is submission to Allah's will, to obey Him, and to worship Him alone.
At Islam's core, there are 5 basic pillars;
Shahada, Salat, Zakat, Sawm, Hajj. Quran.
Charity. Bibliography:
Full transcript