Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.



No description

Sarah Jurewicz

on 30 October 2017

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of BASKETBALL

1924 - FSFI held first International games
1926 - AAU sponsored national championship
1950-60 - Roving game developed
1970 - Five-on-five was largely adopted (Indiana, Iowa and Oklahoma, not until 1993!)
1976 - Olympic programme
US wins GOLD in 1984, '88, '96-2016

The game develops ...
1969 - West Chester State College wins first CIAW national championship
1972 - Immaculata College wins first AIAW national championship
Delta State University -
Maragaret Wade, Mother of Modern Women's College Basketball; WADE TROPHY
1982 - Louisiana Tech wins first NCAA national championship
University of Tennessee -
8 NCAA titles
Pat Summitt winningest coach
University of Connecticut -
11 NCAA titles (tied with UCLA men's); only program (m/w) to win 4 in a row
Two longest NCAA winning streak with 90 & 111
#3 sports franchise of decade (2000-'09)
All-American Red Heads
1936-1986, founder Ole Olson
"Female Globetrotters"
502-20 all-time record
Played men's and women's teams
INDUCTED into Naismith Hall of Fame in September, 2012

Wins three consecutive national championships in 1972, '73 and '75
Coach Cathy Rush
Televised women's game vs. Maryland
Women's college team to play at Madison Square Garden
Team to play internationally, in Australia
Game sponsored by Kodak

Senda Berenson at Smith College
Clara Gregory Baer at Newcomb College
6-v-6, no contact, limited dribble, play in thirds of the court = most lady-like
Stanford and Cal (Berkley) played first game; Stanford won 2-1
Play-dates = social functions

Women's Basketball League
1978-1980, 8 teams
National Women's Basketball League
1997-2007, 13 total teams
American Basketball League
1996-1999, 10 teams
Women's National Basketball Association
1996-present, 12 teams (18 total)
Houston Comets/MN Lynx (4)
Phoenix/LA and Dallas (3)

Professional Opportunities
Nancy Lieberman (Cline)
2 AIAW championships at Old Dominion
Three-time All-American; 2-time Wade trophy winner; Broderick winner
WBL championship; WABA first pick and championship
Played for USBL - men's professional league
Played with Washington Generals
Played for Phoenix Mercury
Coached and GM for Detroit Shock
Coached NBA-D league team in Dallas
Broadcaster for NBS, ESPN for Olympics, NCAA and WNBA
Naismith Hall of Fame, 1996
Women's Basketball Hall of Fame inaugural induction class, 1999

First HS player on US National Team
First four-year scholarship player
UCLA four-time All-American
On first US Olympic team, silver
First draft pick of WBL in inaugural season
First ever NBA draft pick, Indiana Pacers
ESPN, NBC, CBS commentator
Naismith Hall of Fame, 1993
Inaugural Women's Hall of Fame, 1999
GM of Phoenix Mercury; VP of Phoenix Suns

Ann Meyers Drysdale
Women's Basketball Pioneers
Cheryl Miller
Naismith, Women's & FIBA HOF
4-time All-American HS and USC
6th all-time scorer in NCAA history
2-time NCAA champ & MVP
Sheryl Swoopes
Statistical records for single game and season; first 3-time MVP and defensive player in WNBA; 4-time WNBA champ
"Air Swoopes"
Lisa Leslie
First collegian woman to dunk
USC 3-time All-American
Top 15 players in WNBA history; 3-time MVP, 2-time champion; league record 15 player of the week honoree
WNBA, 21st season
Elena Della Donne, Brittney Griner, Nneka Oguwmnike, Breanna Stewart
USA, 8 Golds; including 6 straight

Other Notable Trailblazers
Bridge generation
UT to LA Sparks, 2008 & '13 WNBA MVP
UT to IN Fever, 2011 MVP; 3-D awards
UCONN to Pho Mercury, 2009 MVP
UCONN to MN Lynx, 2011 Rookie of the year
Full transcript