Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Erick Erickson Characters

A representation of Erickson's stages of development based off of story characters.

Emily Morley

on 17 October 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Erick Erickson Characters

Erick Erickson's
Stages of Development Using story characters
to explain Erickson's
eight stages of
development Stage Three: Preschool Stage Four: School Age Stage Two: Early Childhood Stage Two Example Stage One: Example Stage Three Example Stage One: Infancy Initiative vs Guilt 6 - 11 years Harry Potter
(By J.K. Rowling) Chuckie Finster (from Rugrats) Matilda Wormwood Trust vs. Mistrust The child depends on a reliable source of love and care in order to develop feelings of trust in others. Harry Potter is a good example because as a child, he not only lost both of his parents, but he also lived with unkind relatives. They did not provide large amounts of love or support when he was young, so he had to learn to accept people on his own terms. Throughout his life he had a hard time adapting to change. Most of the time he also had a hard time trusting other pepole; trust was earned, not given. If he had a different childhood, he might have been more open to these things. Stage Two: Early Childhood (Start video at 2:50,
or around halfway) Chuckie Finster was one of the characters on the 1990's children's television show, Rugrats. He was most known for being allergic to everything and for having a lot of fears. Chuckie was the first and only "rugrat" in the show to become potty-trained. He also overcame many of his fears. In some of the last episodes, Chuckie was the first to talk (to where adults could understand). (From the novel: "Matilda"
By Roald Dahl) Stage Four Example Ramona, in "Ramona the Pest"
By Beverly Cleary Stage Five: Adolescence Cady, from Mean Girls
(based off the book "Queen Bees and Wannabees") Stage Five Example Stage Six: Young Adulthood Jay Gatsby, from "The Great Gatsby" Stage Six Example: Stage Seven: Middle Adulthood Geppetto from "Pinocchio" Stage Seven Example: Stage Eight: Maturity Ebenezer Scrooge, from "A Christmas Carol" Stage Eight Example In this stage, children begin to develop motor skills, independence, and a sense of ownership over their body. If unsuccessful, the child may become ashamed or withdrawn. Autonomy vs Shame and Doubt In this stage, a child develops the want and need to explore his or her environment. They must feel comfortable and have "power" over it. While it is necessary, those who try too hard in this stage could find themselves in trouble with authority. Birth - 18 months 2 - 3 years 3 - 5 years Industry vs Inferiority When just starting school, children will need to learn how to address new social, emotional, and educational expectations. Success builds feelings of accomplishment. 12 - 18 years Identity vs Role Confusion This is a vital age in teenagers find a social and emotional personality. They develop identity and a sense of ideals. Without these, a teen will not stay true to his or herself. 19 - 40 years Intimacy vs Isolation In order to feel successful, young adults need to build strong relationships between friends and intimate partners. If these standards are not met, the person will be left feeling lonely or depressed. 40 - 65 years / Generatively vs Stagnation During middle adulthood, things that create a positive change on one's life are necessary. These things could be children, a great accomplishment, or an action that benefits other people. Without this, adults could feel like they have a "shallow involvement in the world". Age 65 - death Ego Integrity vs. Despair In the later parts of life, older adults begin to reflect on their lives, leading to feelings of either success and wisdom, or a sense of regret. These feelings depend on how that adult feels his or her life was lived. Matilda is five years old and is undeniably clever and smart. She is the "black sheep" of her rude and predictable family. Matilda teaches herself to read, take care of herself, and even how to unlock powers to control her environment. Roald Dahl was able to use this in the literal sense when he describes Matilda's power to control objects around her and to use them to her advantage. Sometimes, however, this gets her into trouble at school with Ms. Trunchbull (the principal). Ramona Quimby was just starting school and was so excited to do so! She excells in spelling and other subjects in school, but she can't seem to understand the social aspect of class. Ramona's eyes wander around class when she is supposed to be working, she pulls her classmate's hair, and even ditches class. Ramona experiences both sides of this stage: the successful feeling of doing well in school, and the low of not fitting in with the crowd. Cady is a transfer student from Africa. She has never been to a public high school and is not yet accustomed to the typical American life-style. Cady becomes friends with the two seen in the clip above. While trying to fit in, she pretends to be a popular girl (the "plastics"), but actually starts to let it affect her personality and personal values. Cady fails to stay true to herself throughout the film until this (seen above), as well as other moments following, when she reverts back to her "normal" self. Jay Gatsby was one of the main characters in F. Scott Fitzgerald's novel, "The Great Gatsby". In the novel, Gatsby lives alone in a large mansion during the prohibition. Gatsby throws extravagant parties many nights per week in hopes that the will see his love, Daisy. Once he finally meets her again, Gatsby only wants her to himself, thus driving away her other relationships and friendships. This loneliness that Gatsby is bound to endure finally drives him to his death at the end of the novel. His relationships are all empty and meaningless; making his life more so of each. Geppetto, an Italian woodcarver, was a character in an Italian children's novel. It was later adapted by Walt Disney and set to be a film. Geppetto feels unaccomplished and somewhat lonely, so he carves a puppet named Pinocchio. He makes a wish that this puppet was a real boy so that he would have a son and a family to look after. Geppetto is a classic example of this stage because he not only feels like he needs something more in his life, but he actually fixes the situation himself. Ebenezer Scrooge is the well known character from Charles Dickenson's story "A Christmas Carol". He is a greedy, rich, and grumpy man who does not seem to understand the "spirit of Christmas". He does not perform selfless acts or act kind toward anyone. However, after being visited by three ghosts, Scrooge changes his outlook on life. He no longer feels empty and bitter; he gives to the poor and leads a more selfless life. Scrooge shows both sides of this stage, luckily going to a more positive side of life.
Full transcript