Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Celebration of Worship and Sacraments in Italy.


emily schepp

on 25 April 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Celebration of Worship and Sacraments in Italy.

The Church united in common celebration
of Worship and Sacrament by: Bridget Norlie, Sarah Roddy, and Kristen Maxwell Tradition: Italians Christmas Eve dinner consists of fish. Most Christian families around the world celebrate this meal with different kinds of meat. It is a tradition for Italians to cook and serve seven different types of fish. La Vigilia translates to Feast of the Seven Fishes. It is one of Italy's most common tradition.
In Italy some people can be baptized in the Jordan River. The Jordan River is very special to Christians because Jesus himself was baptized in the Jordan River. Baptism: First Holy Communion: Italian Catholics, in particular, view a child's first Communion as both a holy and a cultural event. While I was in Italy I found out more about the Catholic weddings. In Italy to be married in a Catholic Church you have to show documentations of your Baptism, and Confirmation for the priest to marry you. You can get special permission to get married though if one person is not of the Catholic faith. I also learned that Catholic Italians can get confirmed as young as 12 years old to as old as 18. The End.
Have a great day! · In Italy at a wedding and instead of "taking" each other, they "accept" each other
· In August, there they celebrate a holiday called Ferragusto, and they get to enjoy all of the foods and gifts that come from all of the work that they had to do, and this is the end of the harvest season.
· Only about 30% of Italians attend church regularly
· There is another feast in the Roman Empire called "Saturnalia," which combines with the Christmas celebrations, and they start on December 8th. The children ask for presents in their letters to Babbo Natale or Santa Clause, which they write during this time.
· Christmas is celebrated as a "day of abstinence" to Catholic Italians. Italians eat the il pranzo, or lunch on Christmas day. On Christmas Eve, some parts of Italy eat the Feast of Seven Fishes, or La Vagilia, which is when seven fishes are served.
· There is at least one patron saint associated with every day of the year in Italy. www.ediblemanhattan.com/topics/history/the-feast-of-the-seven-fishes/
http://www.ehow.com/facts_7461172_traditional-italian-celebration-first-communion.html http://www.romanticitalianwedding.com/wedding-ceremonies.php
http://archive.episcopalchurch.org/3577_18294_ENG_HTM.htm Sites: Italy Spain The Church united in common celebration
of Worship and Sacrament by: Alex Molner and Emily Schepp The Arras are thirteen coins that the Bride and Groom exchange during the ceremony. The number 13 is lucky in a Spain Wedding. 13 qualities needed for a long-lasting, happy marriage: they are sometimes said to stand for love, trust, commitment, respect, joy, happiness, harmony, wisdom, wholeness, nurturing, caring, cooperation, and peace. Tradition: Baptism: First Holy Communion: For people in Spain, the holy Communion is a very big event Representations of saints take center stage in Hispanic religion. We pray, light candles and talk to our patrons which are saints. Each Latin American country has a patron saint or virgin they celebrate. Patron Saints are also assigned to towns and regions, and we celebrate Las Fiestas Patronales or the patron’s festivities in many Hispanic countries.

El Camino de Santiago, in English “The Way of Saint James,” is the pilgrimage to the Cathedral of Santiago de Compostela in northwestern Spain, where legend has it that the remains of Jesus’s apostle Saint James the Elder lie. Lent called “Cuaresma”
Holy Week called “Semana Santa”, Christmas called “La Navidad”, Three Kings Day or “Los Tres Reyes Magos”

The main symbols in Hispanic religion are:
The cross, Images of saints, The rosary, Image of the Virgin Mary.

Many people believe that praying to the patron saint of their village will bring them good crops and good health. The people from Spain also believe that the Virgin Mary is a very important women and a role model among women around. Traditionally, the bride wears a black silk wedding dress with a black lace veil, but today most brides wear white. The groom wears an embroidered shirt, handmade by his future wife. The veil is part of the wedding dress and symbolizes God’s protection. The flowers are usually Orange Blossom’s (azahares) – they represent happiness and fulfillment. Baptisms in Spain are pretty much like the ones here in America. They aren't very different then any other Baptism. They can be baptized at any age. I Africa  History
-Christian activity in Africa began in the 1st century
-There were many important members of the early Church that were from Africa: Mark the Evangelist and St. Augustine of Hippo were two of them
-Churches in the northeastern part of Africa practiced the same customs as the Eastern Church; those in the west were connected to the Roman Catholic Church.
-Pope Victor I, Pope Miltiades, and Pope Gelasius
-The Arab conquest ended Catholicism in north Africa for many centuries Traditions
-They have a lot more dancing and singing in their churches than in other parts of the world
-The priests wear different robes and headdresses
-Before mass begins, people knee in the church and ask for their ancestors to be present at mass with them
-Jesus’s mother Mary is extremely important to them Sacraments
-Baptism—they like to baptize babies the day after they’re born
-Eucharist—the ceremony colors are white with silver and a little bit of gold and blue. Flowers and perfumes show how sacred the ceremony is African Priest
Full transcript