Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The 7 dimensions of Sikhism

No description

Santiago Moreno

on 16 December 2013

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The 7 dimensions of Sikhism

• The origins of Sikhism lie in the teachings of Guru Nanak and his successors.

• It was founded in India and Pakistan in 1496 AD by Guru Nanak.

• Guru Nanak's teachings are summed up in the words "Realization of Truth is higher than all else. Higher still is truthful living".
• Use of statues and images is forbidden as they are considered idolatry.

• A Gurdwara is place of worship of Sikhs, however all people of faith are welcome.

• Sacred ceremonies and mass are performed in a Gurdwara.
• Daily prayers focusing on the three pillars of Sikhism:
• Naam Japo (Contemplating God's names)

• Kirat Karo (Living life with honestly and integrity)

• Vand Chhako (Sharing what you have with those less fortunate)
• Sikhs strongly reject the Caste System.

• The eleven Sikh Gurus had always pushed for equality for all and made every attempt to eliminate the caste system.
• All people are treated the same despite their faith, caste, or skin color.

• Sikhs Guru have always marked the importance in using self-discipline to to replace greed and anger with humbleness and forgiveness.
• The Five Virtues that one should practice to reach Mukti or reunite with God :

• Sat (Truth)
• Daya (Compassion)
• Santokh (Contentment)
• Nimrata (Humility)
• Pyar (Love)

• Every person experiences a cycle of reincarnation until enlightenment is reached.

• Sikhs believe that there are 8,400,000 forms of life.

• Each soul has to travel a number of these through the cycle of reincarnation.
Guru Nanak
Sikhism originated in the Punjab region in Pakistan and India.
• The Five Thieves or major weaknesses of the human personality that threaten a spiritual path.

• Kaam (Lust)
• Krodh (Anger)
• Lobh (Greed)
• Moh (Attachment)
• Ahankar (Ego, Pride)

Sikh clothing
• Enlightenment is considered to be a state of realization of one’s divine inner connection with the creator and all of creation.

• When enlightenment is finally reached, the person meets Waheguru, the Sikh God.
• Guru Nanak was the first Sikh Guru and became Waheguru, the Sikh God.

• Guru Nanak was reborn as 10 further guru successors from 1469 to 1708.
• Offshoot religions of Sikhism
• Namdhari
• Belief in Jagjit Singh as their living Guru.
• Strict vegetarians along with other strict beliefs
• Sikh Daharma
• Mixes Orthodox Sikhism with New Age values.

Jagjit Singh
Three Pillars of Sikhism
Sikhism Equality
The Five Virtues and The Five Thieves of Sikhism
The Eleven Sikh Gurus
What is Sikhism?
• Sikhism is a monotheistic religion.

• Focus on devotion to God, truthful living, and social justice.

• It is now the fifth largest religion in the world with over 30 million followers.
What is Sikhism?
• The word 'Sikh' means disciple in the Punjabi language.

• Sikhs are disciples of God who follow the teachings of the eleven Sikh Gurus.
Sikhism in Toronto
• 2.9% or around 150,000 people in Toronto are Sikhs.

• Every year in April 28, Toronto hosts the annual Sikh Khalsa Day parade, the third-largest parade in Toronto. Sikhs celebrate with music, hymns, prayer, and foods.
Sikh Gurdwara in
Guelph, Toronto
Toronto Khalsa Day Parade
• Men are to wear a turban.

• Women are permitted to wear a turban or scarves once baptized.

• A Kirpan is a ceremonial dagger carried by baptized sikhs.
The Golden Temple, the most famous Gurdwara.
The 7 Dimensions
of Sikhism
Experiential, Mythic, Doctrinal, Ethical, Social, Ritual, and Material
The End.
By Santiago Moreno
Full transcript