Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


The Five Stages of Greif

No description

Molly Fagan

on 4 February 2016

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of The Five Stages of Greif

The Five Stages of Grief
BY:Julie and Alli Wood
Stage 1:DENIAL
Stage 2:ANGER
Denial is the first stage of grief. During
denial the world becomes overwhelmi-ng and meaningless. You wonder how you can go on, if you can go on, and if you should go on. Denial is natures way of letting in only as much as we can handle. As you start to accept reality you become stronger and denial starts to fade.
Anger is the second stage of grief. Anger has no limits, it can affect your friends, doctors, family, and yourself. This stage is very important to the healing process, you must be willing to feel your anger. The anger is just another indication of the intensity of your love.
Bargaining is the third stage of grief. Before a loss, it seems like you will do anything if only your loved one would be spared. After a loss, bargaining may take the form of a temporary truce. We will do anything not to feel the pain of this loss. We remain in the past, trying to debate our way out of the pain.
After bargaining, our attention moves squarely into the present. Empty feelings present themselves, and grief enters our lives on a deeper level. This depressive stage feels as though it would last forever. To not experience depression after a loved one dies would be unusual.
Acceptance is the fifth stage of grief. Acceptance is often confused with being "all right" or "OK" with what happened. This is not the case. Most people don't ever feel OK about the loss of a loved one. This stage is about accepting the reality that our loved one is physically gone and recognizing that this is the new, permanent reality. We will never like this reality or make it OK, but eventually we accept it.
In this video each stage is acted in a real life scenario.
You can see examples of the five stages of grief throughout this book:

-"So he might not have cancer, right?" (pg. 42)

-"Feel bad? Well, you did. I've been worrying about this all stupid day!" (pg 35)

-"Take me. Don't take Jeffy. Please lord. Take me." (pg 97)

-"Soon I'll be leaving school to go live under an overpass, so what's the point of Renee liking me now?" (pg 151)
Full transcript