Loading presentation...

Present Remotely

Send the link below via email or IM


Present to your audience

Start remote presentation

  • Invited audience members will follow you as you navigate and present
  • People invited to a presentation do not need a Prezi account
  • This link expires 10 minutes after you close the presentation
  • A maximum of 30 users can follow your presentation
  • Learn more about this feature in our knowledge base article

Do you really want to delete this prezi?

Neither you, nor the coeditors you shared it with will be able to recover it again.


Mollusks and Arthropods Science

No description

Elizabeth Bardales

on 3 November 2012

Comments (0)

Please log in to add your comment.

Report abuse

Transcript of Mollusks and Arthropods Science

Science Bivalves Bivalves are mollusks that have two shells held together They obtain food by filter feeders that strain tiny organisms from water. They move by floating or swimming through the water. The bivalves mantle produces a smooth, pearly coat
to cover the irritating object. Gastropods The gastropod is the largest group of mollusk.They have a single external shell or no shell at all. They used an organ called radula, a flexible ribbon of tiny teeth, to obtain food. They move by creeping along on a broad foot. The mucus make it easier for them to move. Cephalopods Is an oceandwelling mollusk whose foot is adapted to
form tentacles around its mouth. They are the only mollusk with close circulatory system. They are carnivores and obtain food by using its muscular tentacles. They have large eyes and excellent vision. They also have large brain and they can remember things they have learn. They swim by jet propulsion. Characrteristics
of Mollusks Crustaceans Centipedes and millipedes Arthropods Has two or three body sections, five or more pair
of legs, and two pairs of antennae.
They obtain food in many ways. Arachnids They are arthropods with two body sections, four pairs of legs, and no antennae. They have two body sections and many pairs of legs. The two body sections are a head with one pair of antennae, and a long abdomen with many segments. Insects Insects are arthropods with three body sections, six legs, one pair of antennae, and usually one or two pairs of wings. The three body sections are the head, thorax, and abdomen. Most insects have sense organs. The thorax is the section which wings and legs are attached. Insects may feed on animals. An insects mouthparts are adapted for a highly specific way of getting food. A butterflies mouthparts are shapedlike a coiled tube, whichcan be uncoilled.
Each insect species undergoes either complete metamorphosis or gradual metamorphosis. A complete metamorphosis has four different stages- egg, larva, pupa, and adult. The pupa does not eat and moves very little.The second type of metamorphosis is called gradual metamorphosis, has no distinct larval stage. An egg hatches into a stage called a nymph. It looks like an adult insect without wings. It may molt many times before becoming an adult. Insect Ecology A food chain starts with a producer, an organism that makes its own food. A consumer is an organism that obtains energy by eating other organisms. a decomposer breaks down the wastes and dead bodies of other organisms. Some insects are prey for other consumers.
Insects play key roles in food chains because of the many different ways that they obtain food and then become food for other animals. Many insects are consumers for plants.
Insects play another role in food chain, they are prey for many animals. Some insects play the role of decomposers by breaking down the wastes and bodies of dead organisms.
Even today insects are collected and eaten by people.
two ways insects interact with other living things are by moving pollen among plants and by spreading disease-causing organisms. To try to control pests people use chemicals, traps, and living thing, including other insects. Echinoderms Are invertebrates with an internal skeleton and a system of fluid-filled tubes called a water vascular system. All live in salty water. They have a tube feet, opening for water, and water vascular system. There are four major groups of echinoderms-sea stars, brittle stars, sea urchins, and sea cumbers. Hope You Like it =)
Full transcript